PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF DECEMBER 3, 2015 IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Tim Golba called the meeting to order at 9:17 a.m. Chairperson Tim Golba adjourned the meeting at 5:10 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Tim Golba – present Vice-Chairperson Stephen Haase – present Commissioner James Whalen – present Commissioner Anthony Wagner – present Commissioner Sue Peerson – present Commissioner Theresa Quiroz – present Commissioner Douglas Austin – present

<u>Staff</u>

Shannon Thomas, City Attorney – present/out at 3:40 p.m. Heidi Vonblum, City Attorney – in at 3:40 p.m. Jeff Murphy, Planning Department. - present Robert Vacchi, Development Services Department – present Louis Schultz, Development Services Department – present Carmina Trajano, Recorder – present

ITEM – 1: ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT - ISSUES WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION NOT PREVIOUSLY HEARD:

NONE

ITEM - 2: **REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCE AND/OR ITEMS TO BE WITHDRAWN:**

NONE

ITEM - 3: REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA:

NONE

ITEM – 4: **APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA:**

Accepted as presented.

ITEM – 5: DIRECTOR'S REPORT:

NONE

ITEM – 6: COMMISSION COMMENT:

NONE

ITEM – 7: SHORT TERM VACATION RENTAL HOME SHARING ORDINANCE City Council District: All Plan Area: Citywide

Staff: Ryan Purdy, Council District 2

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Scott Gruby, James Lawson, Phil Roth and Denise Friedman.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Andrew Melton, Stacey Melton, Charles Angyal, Yvonne Angyal, Cliff Douglas, Chris Moody , Corinne L. Moody, Amy Wallen, Drew Parker, Austin Hong, Justin Manji, Thuy Mai, Grant Oliveira, Lilia Geffry, Julia, Margaret Dean Grousby, Ann Cottrell, Nancy Kramer, Angelina Titus, Alison Patton, Alan Harris, Gina Thompson, William McAndrew, Tom Brady, Dr. Tim Radke, Hakan Mikado, Caitlin Mueller, Susan Adams, Terri Kirsch, Michael Kirsch, Emily Shantz, Jeanette Best, Beverlee Hockentstein, John

Thickstum, Mike McAndrew, Leif Leloup, Blake Herrschaft, Vicki Granowitz, Jennifer Tandy, Donna Jones, Maurice Maio, Jim Thomas, Albert Galura, Daniel Mansson, Anissa Manfredi, John Anderson, Susan Gioner, Joann Stable, Alicia Bickham, Linda Caching, Margo Di Bartelo, Serah Herald, Lukas Volk, Elise Howell, Andrea Ross, Bobbie Miller, Jui Schultz, Quinn Smith, Jeff Mac Gurn, William Eckert, Justine Nielsen, Curtis Brey, Patricia Sweeting, John McCarthy, Lyle Cocking, Steven Englander, Belinda Brey, Peter Jensen, Scott Opis, David Austin, Linda McAndrew, Beth Rosmussen Austin, Wilma Ingwalson, Carl Ingwalson, Helen Campbell, Maya Leisure, Jesus Tuck, Alex Crawford, Michael Amaya, Mary Harold, Edward Hamilton, Cecilia Abraham, Julie Darling, David Schrader, John Selby, Donna O'Hare, Murray Moran, Betsy Court, Keri Whitmore, Ronan Gray, Pam Stahl, Dan Clevelan, Kathy Cleveland, Tom Coat, Kurt Rosmussen, Rocio Rasmussen, Eve Anderson, Jonay Mechanic, Marilyn West, Michelle Aarons, Blaire Smith, Nate Tomlinson, Megan Rae, Isaiah Walter, Todd Philips, Scott Gruby, James Lawson, Phil Roth, Denise Friedman, Mike Costello, Odile Costello, John Gregory, Ron Crawford, Avalee Cohen, Craig Campbell, Laurie Neff, John Burmeisten, Marcie Beckett, Carolyn Marsden, Roland Stroebel, Susan Schiele, Barbara Bry, Catrine Kravechuill, Joe LaCava, James Marshall, B. Chris Brewster, Marcela Teran Sonya Palmer, Susan Brandon, Douglas Frendling, John Pearson, Fougere Robertson, Barry Bielinski, Chuck Samples, Peter McGumin, Kim Itkonen, Christian Michaels, David Kochman, Gene Carswell, Lainie Carswell, Julie Richardson, Michael Stein Jeffrey Scott Rosan, Frank E. Rogozienski, Andrew Karenowis, Brook Empey, Cami Eiskamp, Floyd C. Geis, Jeff Enderwick, Paul Bedington, Rodney Love, David Gordon, Andrea Ross, Jennifer Hegemier, Lucas Murdock, Frank Cella, Joanie Selby, Kathy Mateer, Kim Hall, Laura Hershey, Rod Horby, Paula Robinson, Dennis Richardson, Alexandria Moran, Jim Manner, Robert Koras, Troy Orem, Greg Mitchell, Mary Orem, Lawrence Fulton, Jamie Herrera, Tori Penick, Patti Sears, Katie Scott, Bruce Rae, Teena Goodman, Greg Ross, Aaron Beard, John Stump, Jeff Harms, John Sweeney, Kimberly Jackson, Felicia Ward, Rory Reiver, Laura Riebau and Ryan Jantz.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER WHALEN MADE THE MOTION TO RETURN THIS ITEM TO STAFF FOR FURTHER EVALUATION TO A CONTINUED DATE OF JANUARY 28, 2016 TO BRING IT BACK TO PLANNING COMMISSION WHILE ADDRESSING THE MINISTERIAL PERMIT ASPECT, REGISTRATION FEE, VERIFIED COMPLAINTS CAUSING REVOCATION OR POSSIBLE TRIGGERING OF THE NUP AND ANNUAL INSPECTION FOR HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE. Commissioner Wagner seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0 with Commissioners Golba, Haase, Austin, Quiroz, Peerson, Wagner and Whalen voting yea.

ITEM -8: CLIMATE ACTION PLAN

City Council District: All

Plan Area: Citywide

Staff: Seth Litchney

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Joe LaCava, Grant Oliviera, Susan J. Randerson, Sarah Thorwirth, Jay Powell, Kristen Victor, Melania Nelly,

Shea Barton, Jack Monger, Danny Reeves, Matt Adams, Chris Duggan, Sara Kerafin, Julianna Chick and Vicki Granowitz.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER QUIROZ MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE CAP AFTER CONSIDERATION OF THE FOLLOWING ISSUES: THE CITY COUNCIL ENVIRONMENTAL COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS, THE RECOMMENDATION FROM THE CPC COMMITTEE, AND THE ISSUE REGARDING THE EMPHASIS ON SMALLER-SCALE RENEWABLE ENERGY GENERATION RAISED IN MR. JAY POWELL'S LETTER DATED NOVEMBER 30, 2015. Commissioner Austin seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0 with Commissioners Golba, Haase, Austin, Quiroz, Peerson, Wagner and Whalen voting yea.