Unapproved

PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF OCTOBER 27, 2022 HYBRID MEETING – DEVELOPMENT SERVICES DEPARTMENT/ZOOM

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM Chairperson William Hofman adjourned the meeting at 11:51 AM

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chair William Hofman – Present Vice-Chair Kelly Modén – Present Commissioner Ted Miyahara – Present Commissioner Ken Malbrough - Present Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Present Commissioner Matthew Boomhower – Present Commissioner Carmen Vann – Present

STAFF:

Shannon Eckmeyer, Deputy City Attorney – Present Tait Galloway, Planning Department – Present Renee Mezo, Development Services Department - Present Sean Torres, Civil Engineer, Development Services Department – Present Sabrina Custer, Legislative Recorder, Development Services Department - Present

ANNOUNCEMENTS/NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

Judy Strang on Public Comment

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN None

REQUEST FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA None

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA Approved

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Development Services Department – None. Planning Department – None.

COMMISSION COMMENT

None

AGENDA ITEMS

ITEM 1: OTAY MESA COMMUNITY PLAN AMENDMENT INITIATION - NAKANO

City Council District: 8 **Plan Area**: Otay Mesa **Staff:** Marlon Pangilinan

Speakers on the project: Allen Kashani

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

• INITIATE THE COMMUNITY PLAN AMENDMENT PROCESS

Second by Commissioner Vann. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea.

ITEM 2: 2022 UPDATE TO THE SAN DIEGO MUNICIPAL CODE AND LOCAL COASTAL PROGRAM

City Council District: All **Plan Area**: Citywide **Staff:** Liz Saidkhanian

Speakers on the project: Gerald Schoelen, Zephen Specht, Aya Zervas, Andrea Schlagter, Ralph Teyssier, David Moty, Madison Cohn, Alex Kukas, Danna Givot, Lisa Sinclair, Theresa Murphy, Brent N., Christine Smith, Sharon Gehl, Allison Wood, Kathy McClelland, Lorna Zukas, Angeli Calinog, Heidi Mather, Melanie Cohn, Bob Cummings, Matt Adams, Judi Strang, Madison Coleman, Tome Story Geoff Heuter, Paul Krueqer, Craig Benedetto, Dan Feldman, Uri Felman, Lisa Gordon, Heather Riley, Jesse O'Sullivan, Bryan Grissinger, Sumeet Parcki,

Break @ 10:45 to 10:50

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE THE PROPOSED 2022 CODE UPDATE WITH THE EXCEPTIONS OF ITEMS 5,16,18, 21, AND 47.
- WE REQUEST THAT FIVE REMAINING ITEMS (5, 16, 18, 21, AND 47) BE CONTINUED TO DATE CERTAIN OF DECEMBER 8, 2022.

Second by Commissioner Vann. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea.

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 11:51 AM