Unapproved

PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF November 17, 2022 ZOOM MEETING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM Chairperson William Hofman adjourned the meeting at 12:31 PM

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chair William Hofman – Teleconference
Vice-Chair Kelly Modén – Teleconference (left at 11:00 AM)
Commissioner Ted Miyahara – Teleconference
Commissioner Ken Malbrough - Teleconference
Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Teleconference
Commissioner Matthew Boomhower – Teleconference
Commissioner Carmen Vann – Teleconference

STAFF:

Shannon Eckmeyer, Deputy City Attorney – Teleconference
Tait Galloway, Planning Department – Teleconference
Renee Mezo, Development Services Department - Teleconference
Tony Khalil, Senior Civil Engineer, Development Services Department – Teleconference
Sabrina Custer, Legislative Recorder, Development Services Department - Teleconference

ANNOUNCEMENTS/NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

Aaron Lazarecky on Public Comment

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

None

REQUEST FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA

Item #3 Turquoise Place

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Approved

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Development Services Department – None. Planning Department – None.

COMMISSION COMMENT

None

AGENDA ITEMS

ITEM 1: Appeal of Staff Decision 9/16/2022 1542 COPA DE ORO SCR - PROJECT NO. 699239

City Council District: 1 Plan Area: La Jolla Community

Staff: Jose Bautista

Speakers on the project:

Cynthia Morgan-Reed, Matt Velvao, John Venekamp, Michael Morton, Don Kinsey, Karen Austin, Vivian Collin, Sharon Henry, Daniel Smith, Michelle Racicot

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

• DENY THE APPEAL AND AFFIRM THE DEVELOPMENT SERVICES DEPARTMENT'S DECISION OF SUBSTANTIAL CONFORMANCE [SCR NO. 2591116] TO THE ORIGINAL PROJECT NO. 676181; CDP 2482866.

Second by Commissioner Vann. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea.

Break was taken @ 10:02 AM to 10:15 AM

ITEM 2: GRAVILLA TOWNHOMES - PROJECT NO. 696299

City Council District: 1 Plan Area: La Jolla

Staff: Oscar Galvez III/Grecia Aceves

Speakers on the project: Doug Austin, Rhonda Neely

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER OTSUJI TO:

- APPROVE COASTAL DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2578101
- APPROVE VESTING TENTATIVE MAP NO. 2578103

Second by Commissioner Malbrough. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea.

ITEM 3: TURQUOISE PLACE VTM/CDP - PROJECT NO. 1052070

City Council District: 2 **Plan Area**: Pacific Beach

Staff: Jesus Murillo

Speakers on the project:

None

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

- APPROVE VESTING TENTATIVE MAP NO. 3146139
 - APPROVE COASTAL DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 3176758

Second by Commissioner Otsuji. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea.

ITEM 4: COLLEGE AREA COMMUNITY PLAN UPDATE - WORKSHOP

City Council District: 9 **Plan Area**: College Area

Staff: Nathen Causman

Speakers on the project:

Jim Jennings, Robert Montana, Julie Mailton, Jean Hoeger, Kurt Hoeger, Ken Bierly, Kristin Boone, Alex Kukas, Sally Ellis, Bucky Reed, Trisha Miyahara, Dana Givot, Joel

Davis, Sharlene Thompson, Vivian Collins, Amerling, Jose Reynoso, Ann Cottrell, Sharon Henry, Kathleen Crain, Robert Higdon, Newell Booth, Patricia Miyahara, Michelle Racicot, Yvonne, Paul Kruger, Daneil Smith Gladene Booth, Troy Murphee, Lora Rebo, Sharon Gehl, Jess O'Sullivan, Matt Rodman, Mick Lowabell

Break was taken @ 12:00 PM to 12:05 PM

COMMISSION ACTION:

Workshop was given. Comments were provided by all Commissioners.

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 12:31 PM