Unapproved

PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF APRIL 21, 2022 VIRTUAL MEETING - ZOOM

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM Chairperson William Hofman adjourned the meeting at 12:19 PM

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chair William Hofman – Teleconference Vice-Chair Kelly Modén – Teleconference Commissioner Ted Miyahara – Teleconference Commissioner Ken Malbrough - Teleconference Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Teleconference Commissioner Matthew Boomhower – Teleconference Commissioner Carmen Vann – Teleconference

STAFF:

Lauren Hendrickson, Deputy City Attorney – Teleconference Kelly Stanco, Planning Department – Teleconference Renee Mezo, Assistant Deputy Director, Development Services Department - Teleconference Tony Khalil, Senior Civil Engineer, Development Services Department – Teleconference Sabrina Custer, Legislative Recorder, Development Services Department – Teleconference

ANNOUNCEMENTS/NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

Public Comment: Danna Givot

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

Item #3 Union/Newton Sites continued to May 19, 2022

REQUEST FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA

None

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

- February 24, 2022
- March 10, 2022
- March 24, 2022

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

 APPROVE OF THE MINUTES FOR FEBRUARY 24, 2022, MARCH 10,2022, AND MARCH 24, 2022

Second by Commissioner Otsuji. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Approved

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Renee Mezo, Development Services Department, Congratulation to Heidi Vonblum on her promotion to Director of the Planning Department. Renee also announced Angela Colton will be moving over to Risk Management as the new Director.

Kelly Stanco, Planning Department Congratulation to Heidi Vonblum on becoming Director of Planning Department.

COMMISSION COMMENT

Chair Hofman Congratulated Commissioner Modén on her appointment as Vice-Chair to the Planning Commission

AGENDA ITEMS

ITEM 1: Appeal of DSD Staff Decision 1/3/2022

* SALK INSTITUTE SCR – PROJECT NO. 687543 City Council District: 1 Plan Area: University Staff: Martin Mendez Speakers on the project: Charles Kaminski, Tim Ball, Kim Baranek, Kyle Boyce, Camille Passion, Lillian Asperin, Bruce Coons, David, David Watson, Steven, DeJonge, Sharon Gehl

Break @ 10:05 am to 10:10 am

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

• DENY THE APPEAL AND AFFIRM THE DEVELOPMENT SERVICES DEPARTMENT DECISION OF SUBSTANTIAL CONFORMANCE [SCR NO. 2554139] TO THE ORIGINAL PROJECT NO. 44675; CDP, SDP, MPDP, MHPA BOUNDARY LINE ADJUSTMENT, VTM, AND EASEMENT ABANDONMENT, AN AMENDMENT TO CDP/HRP/CUP 90-1140.

Second by Commissioner Malbrough. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea.

ITEM 2: Continued from to 3/24/2022

BUILD BETTER SD City Council District: All Plan Area: Citywide Staff: Liz Saidkhanian

Speakers on the project: Leslie Reynolds, Sally Smull, Thomas Mullaney, Marti Emerald, Craig Benadintal, Julie Buraos, Geoff Hueter, Matt Adams

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER MIYAHARA TO:

- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE THE BUILD BETTER SD INITIATIVE INCLUDING AMENDMENTS TO THE GENERAL PLAN'S PUBLIC FACILITIES, SERVICES AND SAFETY ELEMENT, SAN DIEGO MUNICIPAL CODE, LAND DEVELOPMENT MANUAL, THE LOCAL COASTAL PROGRAM.
- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE ADOPTED ADDENDUM TO ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT REPORT PROJECT NO.104495/SCH NO. 2006091032.
- WITH ONE ADDITIONAL PROVISION THE PLANNING COMMISSION RECOMMEND TO THE CITY COUNCIL A JULY 2023 IMPLEMENTATION DATE.

Second by Commissioner Malbrough. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea.

ITEM 3: * UNION/NEWTON SITES - PROJECT NO. 694291

City Council District: 3 & 8 **Plan Area**: Barrio Logan **Staff:** James Alexander

Speakers on the project: None

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER MIYAHARA TO:

• CONTINUE TO DATE CERTAIN OF MAY 19, 2022

Second by Vice-Chairperson Modén. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea.

ITEM 4: * BOSA DEVELOPMENT AGREEMENT – PROJECT NO. 691185

City Council District: 3 **Plan Area**: Downtown **Staff:** James Alexander

Speakers on the project: Jess Garcia

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER VANN TO:

• RECOMMEND CITY COUNCIL TO APPROVE THE PROPOSED DEVELOPMENT AGREEMENT (DA) FOR THE SITE.

Second by Commissioner Malbrough. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea.

ITEM 5: T-MOBILE A STREET – PROJECT NO. 687321

City Council District: 4 **Plan Area**: Mid-City: Eastern Area Community Plan **Staff:** Ian Heacox

Speakers on the project: Steven DeJonge, and Gary Cassel

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER VANN TO:

- APPROVE CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT NO. 2562557
- APPROVE PLANNED DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2562556
- APPROVE NEIGHBORHOOD DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2562558

Second by Commissioner Boomhower. The motion passed by a vote of 6-1-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea. Commissioner Otsuji voting no.

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 12:19 PM