Unapproved

PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF MAY 5, 2022 VIRTUAL MEETING - ZOOM

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM Chairperson William Hofman adjourned the meeting at 11:25 AM

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chair William Hofman – Teleconference
Vice-Chair Kelly Modén – Absent
Commissioner Ted Miyahara – Teleconference
Commissioner Ken Malbrough - Teleconference
Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Teleconference
Commissioner Matthew Boomhower – Teleconference
Commissioner Carmen Vann – Teleconference

STAFF:

Lauren Hendrickson, Deputy City Attorney – Teleconference
Tait Galloway, Planning Department – Teleconference
Renee Mezo, Assistant Deputy Director, Development Services Department - Teleconference
Tony Khalil, Senior Civil Engineer, Development Services Department – Teleconference
Sabrina Custer, Legislative Recorder, Development Services Department – Teleconference

ANNOUNCEMENTS/NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

Public Comment - Anne Fege, Shaun Chamberlin, Jan Hintzman

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

None

REQUEST FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA

None

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Approved

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Renee Mezo, Development Services Department, Starting June 2, we will be going back to in-person hearings in Council Chambers. Members of the public, Commissioners, and staff will all be in-person.

Tait Galloway, Planning Department, we are planning on holding a training for new community planning group members on June 6, 2022 from 5 PM to 7 PM via Zoom.

COMMISSION COMMENT

None

AGENDA ITEMS

ITEM 1: PB RESIDENCES TM/CDP - PROJECT NO. 681648

City Council District: 2 Plan Area: Pacific Beach

Staff: Tyler Sherer

Speakers on the project: Scott Merry, Richard Drury, and Andy Lee

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY VICE-CHAIRPERSON BOOMHOWER TO:

- APPROVE TENTATIVE MAP NO. 2514173
- COASTAL DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2514172

Second by Commissioner Miyahara. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea. Vice-Chairperson Modén absent.

ITEM 2: PACIFIC BEACH COMMUNITY PLAN AMENDMENT INITIATION - AVA PB

City Council District: 2 **Plan Area**: Pacific Beach

Staff: Melissa Garcia

Speakers on the project: Sofia Zamora, Karen Ruggels, Ben Hadded, Bethany Ruggels-Wallace, Craig Benedetto, Andy Altman, Max Tane.

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER MALBROUGH TO:

• INITIATE THE COMMUNITY PLAN AMENDMENT PROCESS

Second by Commissioner Boomhower. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea. Vice-Chairperson Modén absent.

ITEM 3: OTAY MESA COMMUNITY PLAN AMENDMENT INITIATION - EXPOSITION WAY

City Council District: 8 Plan Area: Otay Mesa

Staff: Marlon Pangilinan

Speakers on the project: Austin Dias

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER MALBROUGH TO:

• INITIATE THE COMMUNITY PLAN AMENDMENT PROCESS

Second by Commissioner Vann. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea. Vice-Chairperson Modén absent.

Break was taken @ 10:03 to 10:10

ITEM 4: CLIMATE ACTION PLAN UPDATE PACKAGE

City Council District: All Plan Area: Citywide

Staff: Rebecca Malone

Speakers on the project: Anne Fege, Craig Benedetto, Brenda Garcia-Millian, Matt Adams, Marcela Escobar-Eck

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE THE COMPONENTS OF THE CLIMATE
 ACTION PLAN UPDATE PACKAGE WITHIN THE PURVIEW OF THE PLANNING
 COMMISSION, CONSISTING OF THE GHG THRESHOLDS OF THE CEQA SIGNIFICANCE
 DETERMINATION THRESHOLDS AND THE CAP CONSISTENCY REGULATIONS, AND
 RECOMMEND CERTIFICATION OF THE ADDENDUM TO THE CAP PEIR.
- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL THE ALSO APPROVE THE MEMO DATED MAY 4, 2022 WITH PROPOSED REVISIONS THAT WAS PRESENTED TO THE PLANNING COMMISSION.

Second by Commissioner Malbrough. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Miyahara, Boomhower, Malbrough and Vann yea. Vice-Chairperson Modén absent.

Meeting adjourned at 11:25 AM