PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF JUNE 28, 2018 IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING 202 C STREET, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Stephen Haase called the meeting to order at 9:02 a.m. Chairperson Stephen Haase adjourned the meeting at 10:10 a.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Stephen Haase – present
Vice-Chairperson Sue Peerson – absent
Commissioner James Whalen – absent
Commissioner Douglas Austin – present / arrived at 9:08 a.m.
Commissioner William Hofman – present
Commissioner Granowitz – present
Dennis Otsuji – present

Staff

Shannon Thomas, City Attorney – present Laura Black, Planning Department – present Morris Dye, Development Services Department – present Louis Schultz, Development Services Department – present Carmina Trajano, Recorder – present

ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT None. REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN None. **CONSENT AGENDA** None. **APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA** Accepted as presented. **DIRECTOR'S REPORT** None. **COMMISSION COMMENT** None. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES FROM APRIL 19, 2018, APRIL 26, 2018, MAY 10, 2018 AND MAY 31, 2018 COMMISSIONER HOFMAN MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM APRIL 19, 2018. Seconded by Commissioner Otsuji. The motion passed by a vote of 4-0-3 with Commissioners Haase, Hofman, Granowitz and Otsuji voting yea and with Commissioners Austin, Peerson and Whalen absent.

COMMISSIONER HOFMAN MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM MAY 10, 2018 WITH AMENDMENT UNDER COMMISSION COMMENT FOR COMMISSIONER WHALEN'S COMMENTS WHERE IT SAYS, "THE COMMISSION WILL BE HAVING AN ALTERNATIVE COMPLIANCE WORKSHOP" AND

COMMISSIONER HOFMAN MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM APRIL 26, 2018. Seconded by Commissioner Otsuji. The motion passed by a vote of 4-0-3 with Commissioners Haase, Hofman, Granowitz and Otsuji voting yea and with Commissioners Austin, Peerson and Whalen

absent.

SHOULD SAY "THE COMMISSION WILL BE HAVING A STORMWATER ALTERNATIVE COMPLIANCE WORKSHOP". Seconded by Commissioner Otsuji. The motion passed by a vote of 4-0-3 with Commissioners Haase, Hofman, Granowitz and Otsuji voting yea and with Commissioners Austin, Peerson and Whalen absent.

COMMISSIONER HOFMAN MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM MAY 31, 2018 WITH AMENDMENT UNDER COMMISSION COMMENT FOR COMMISSIONER GRANOWITZ COMMENTS WHERE IT SAYS, "BENTON PROJECT" AND SHOULD SAY "FENTON PROJECT". Seconded by Commissioner Otsuji. The motion passed by a vote of 4-0-3 with Commissioners Haase, Hofman, Granowitz and Otsuji voting yea and with Commissioners Austin, Peerson and Whalen absent.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

ITEM-1: AT&T - SDG&E SUBSTATION- PROJECT NO. 561426

City Council District: 7 Plan Area: East Elliott

Staff: Karen Lynch

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Morgan Norville, Frank DePeralta and Dorothy Leonard.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Karen L. Galloway and Elizabeth Hansen.

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER AUSTIN TO CONTINUE THIS ITEM TO SEPTEMBER 27, 2018 TO ENABLE THE APPLICANT, PARDEE AND MISSION TRAILS CAC TO WORK TOGETHER ON A REDESIGN AND BRING IT BACK TO THE PLANNING COMMISSION WITH CLEARER RENDERINGS. Seconded by Commissioner Hofman. The motion passed by a vote of 4-1-2 with Commissioners Haase, Hofman, Austin and Granowitz voting yea and with Commissioner Otsuji voting nay and with Commissioners Peerson and Whalen absent.

ITEM-2: AMENDMENTS TO LIVE/WORK QUARTERS REGULATIONS

City Council District: Citywide Plan Area: Citywide

Staff: Edith Gutierrez

No speaker slips in favor of the project were submitted.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted.

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER HOFMAN APPROVING THE STAFF'S RECOMMENDATION TO RECOMMEND APPROVAL OF THE PROPOSED LAND DEVELOPMENT CODE AMENDMENTS

TO THE CITY COUNCIL WITH AMENDMENT PERTAINING TO THE SUBSEQUENT LETTER. Seconded by Commissioner Austin. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Haase, Hofman, Austin, Granowitz and Otsuji voting yea and with Commissioners Peerson and Whalen absent.