PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF FEBRUARY 13, 2014 IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Naslund called the meeting to order at 9:07 a.m. Chairperson Naslund adjourned the meeting at 11:32 a.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Eric Naslund – present Vice-Chairperson Tim Golba – present Commissioner Anthony Wagner – present Commissioner Sue Peerson – absent Commissioner Theresa Quiroz - present Commissioner Michael Smiley – present Commissioner Stephen Haase – present

Staff

Shannon Thomas, City Attorney – present
Nancy Bragado, Planning, Neighborhoods & Economic Development Department. - present
Cathy Winterrowd, Planning, Neighborhoods & Economic Development Department. - present
Don Weston, Development Services Department – present
Carmina Trajano, Recorder – present

ITEM – 1: ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT - ISSUES WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION NOT PREVIOUSLY HEARD:

NONE

ITEM – 2: REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCE AND/OR ITEMS TO BE WITHDRAWN:

NONE

ITEM – 3: REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA:

NONE

ITEM -4: **DIRECTOR'S REPORT:**

NONE

ITEM – 5: **COMMISSION COMMENT:**

NONE

ITEM – 6: APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM JANUARY 23, 2014

COMMISSIONER GOLBA MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM JANUARY 23, 2014. Commissioner Quiroz seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Haase, Smiley, Quiroz, Wagner and Golba voting yea and with Commissioner Naslund abstaining and with Commissioner Peerson absent.

ITEM – 7: OTAY MESA COMMUNITY PLAN UPDATE

City Council District: 8 Plan Area: Otay Mesa

Staff: Theresa Millette

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Tom Story, Rita Mahoney, Alejandra Mier y Teran, Rob Hixson, Kaitlin Murphy, Andy Irwin, Marcela

PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES FOR FEBRUARY 13, 2014

Escobar-Eck, R. Michael Murphy, Mark Steele, Chris Neils, David Wick and John Leppert.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by John Ponder, Alan Ziegaus, Stephanie Dell, Ted Shaw, Anne Marie Berg, Gary Cady, Alan Parker, Edward Goldberg, Frank Goldberg, Linda Greenberg, Jonathan Appelbaum and Jacob Armstrong.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER WAGNER MADE THE MOTION TO RECOMMEND TO THE CITY COUNCIL CERTIFICATION OF FINAL IMPACT REPORT (FEIR) PROJECT NO. 30330/304032/SCH NO. 2004651076 AND ADOPTION OF THE FINDINGS, A STATEMENT OF OVERRIDING CONSIDERATIONS, AND A MITIGATION, MONITORING AND REPORTING PROGRAM (MMRP), APPROVAL OF A RESOLUTION AMENDING THE OTAY MESA COMMUNITY PLAN UPDATE AND GENERAL PLAN, APPROVAL OF AN ORDINANCE AMENDING THE LAND DEVELOPMENT CODE (WHICH WOULD INCLUDE REPEALING THE OTAY MESA DEVELOPMENT DISTRICT ORDINANCE AND REPLACING IT WITH CITYWIDE ZONING, AND APPROVING NEW ZONES), AND APPROVAL OF THE OTAY MESA PUBLIC FACILITIES FINANCING PLAN (PFFP) FOR FISCAL YEAR 2014. Commissioner Golba seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-1-1 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Wagner and Golba voting yea and with Commissioner Quiroz voting nay and with Commissioner Peerson absent.