# PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF JANUARY 13, 2011 IN CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS - 12<sup>TH</sup> FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

# **CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:**

Chairperson Naslund called the meeting to order at 9:07 a.m. Chairperson Naslund adjourned the meeting at 12:35 p.m.

# ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Eric Naslund - present Vice-Chairperson Tim Golba - present Commissioner Robert Griswold – present Commissioner Dennis Otsuji - absent Commissioner Mary Lydon - present Commissioner Mike Smiley – present

# Staff

Andrea Dixon, City Attorney – present
Mary Wright, City Planning & Community Investment Dept. - present
Mike Westlake, Development Services Department – present
Don Weston, Development Services Department - present
Brenda Clark, Recorder - present

# ITEM - 1: ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT - ISSUES WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION NOT PREVIOUSLY HEARD:

**NONE** 

# ITEM - 2: REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCE AND/OR ITEMS TO BE WITHDRAWN:

**NONE** 

# ITEM - 3: REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA:

ITEM #8 – SEWER GROUP 698 – PROJECT NO. 173230

#### ITEM - 4: **DIRECTOR'S REPORT:**

Mary Wright reported on Community Plan Update and Special Projects.

The San Ysidro Plan Update considered its first six months of public meetings and workshops. The next six months will be spent analyzing public input, developing land use concepts, beginning the technical studies and working with the update committee on focus issues.

For the Uptown/North Park/Greater Golden Hill cluster we presented and discussed economic conditions data in Greater Golden Hill earlier this month and will be having similar discussions with North Park next Wednesday, January 19th, starting at 5:30 pm at the War Memorial Building and with Uptown on Wednesday, January 26th, at the Santa Fe Room in Balboa Park at 6:00 pm.

For Barrio Logan the Stakeholder Committee is scheduled to meet on February 23rd where staff and the committee will discuss draft plan elements and proposed zoning. Staff anticipates the release of the draft plan to the public in early February. We scheduled a Planning Commission Workshop in late March to discuss the draft.

The Mid-Way Community Plan Update Committee is holding its second meeting on Wednesday, January 19th, at 1:00 pm at the Community College West City Campus at 3249 Fordham Street.

The Grantville Stakeholders Committee met Monday night to discuss incident ranges and park standards. The Committee will hold a special meeting two Mondays from now on January 24th at 6 pm at Temple Emmanuel at 6299 Capri to discuss the San Diego River Park Master Plan.

# PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES FOR JANUARY 13, 2011

The informational presentation amendments were completed in the fall of 2010 and we are in the process of receiving comments from various advisory groups.

The preparation of the EIR will begin this spring and public comment will continue in the fall of this year.

# ITEM - 5: **COMMISSION COMMENT:**

**NONE** 

# ITEM – 6: *Trailed from December 9, 2010*

# **BRUNO'S MARKET – PROJECT NO. 204786**

City Council District: 8 Plan Area: Southeastern San Diego

Staff: Patrick Hooper

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Ernie Encinas, B. D. Howard, James Justus, Neema Shojai, Patricia Williams, Frank Hueso, Michael Jabro.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Sylva Bungry, Jimmy Lindsey, Thomas Watson.

# **COMMISSION ACTION:**

COMMISSIONER SMILEY MADE THE MOTION TO DENY THE APPEAL OF THE HEARING OFFICER'S DECISION; APPROVE CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT NO. 788948 AND APPROVE SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 788954. Commissioner Golba seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-1 with Commissioners Naslund, Smiley, Lydon, Griswold and Golba voting yea and Commissioners Otsuji absent.

# BREAK FROM 10:10 AM TO 10:15 AM

# ITEM – 7: Appeal of Hearing Officer's decision on October 27, 2010 \*ALTA LA JOLLA DRIVE DRAINAGE REPAIR PHASE II -PROJECT NO. 128971

City Council District: 2 Plan Area: La Jolla

Staff: Jeannette Temple

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Michael Handal, Mastanch Ashrafzadeh, Kerry Santoro, Jim Rocks, Kathleen Hanson, Melanie Rocks, Nathan Jacobsen. Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Joe Crudo, Frank Crudo, Alan Brenner, Claudia Rose.

# **COMMISSION ACTION:**

COMMISSIONER GRISWOLD MADE THE MOTION TO CERTIFY MITIGATED NEGATIVE DECLARATION NO. 128971 AND ADOPT THE MITIGATION, MONITORING AND REPORTING PROGRAM AND DENY THE APPEAL AND APPROVE SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 443956. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-1 with Commissioners Naslund, Smiley, Lydon, Griswold and Golba voting yea and with Commissioner Otsuji absent.

#### **ITEM – 8:** \***SEWER GROUP 698 – PROJECT NO. 173230**

City Council District: 8 Plan Area: Southeastern San Diego

Staff: Patricia Grabski

No speaker slips in favor of the project.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project.

# **COMMISSION ACTION:**

COMMISSIONER LYDON MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Golba seconded the motion. Motion passed by a vote of 4-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Smiley, Lydon, and Golba voting yea and with Commissioners Griswold and Otsuji absent.

# BREAK FROM 11:35 AM TO 11:45 AM

# ITEM – 9: \*OUR LADY OF MT. CARMEL – PROJECT NO. 176054

City Council District: 1 Plan Area: Rancho Penasquitos

Staff: Michelle Sokolowski

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by David Pfeifer, Patrick Murphy, Rosella Reese, Dan Cabuco, Nila Madlangbryan, Ernestine Bentley, Cheryl Wilson, John Keating, Doug Eilar, Patricia Rogers, Ligaya Kelley, Mavey Carr, Carol Fair, Severina Alfonso, Kathleen Paige, Becky Boccaleoni, Dave McClure, Virginia Wilhelm, Jean Reyes, Irene Kelley, Irma Pimentel, Patricia Silva, Amelito Gonzales, Melissa Sanchez, Marc Caeg, Mary Garon, Robert Garon, Robert Holgren, Diane Guthrie,

# PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES FOR JANUARY 13, 2011

Carmen Pratarelli, Nadine Fiscus, Leticia Schmittein, Frank Ciurleo, Carla Demofonte, James Demofonte, Rebecca Ramirez, Charles Parker, Ho To, James Chiu, Susana Lora, Raul Pimente, Nimta Cuyuga, Lenaide Megsi, Bernard Marstall, Ernor Magsi, Corazon Desierto, Marianne Carlin, Feliciana Malibago, Maxi Imson, Imelda Maniqurs, Araceli Giron, Judith Kirk, Pablo Rabanal, Leo Latoreno, Claro Rabanal, Fred Ebuen, Noel Dela Rosh, Avdina Gaert, Therese Cochran, Leonardo Cabuco, Eduarda Sese, Myrna Gloria, Edith McKenzie, Emma Chuidian, Diana Delagardelle, Nimfa Dela Rosa, Herminia Mayo, Cellina Codero, Michael Jabro, Ikhlas Jabro, Carmen San Juan, Lourdes Gaimto, Victoria Surquia, Lourdes Abulencia, Jon Powell, Elaine Ibanez.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Dale Smith.

# **COMMISSION ACTION:**

COMMISSIONER GRISWOLD MADE THE MOTION TO CERTIFY MITIGATED NEGATIVE DECLARATION NO. 176054 AND ADOPT THE MITIGATION, MONITORING AND REPORTING PROGRAM AND APPROVE PLANNED DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 646224, SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 646223 AND CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT NO. 632798 (AMENDMENT TO C-16883, C-17689 AND HRP 106). Commissioner Golba seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-1 with Commissioners Naslund, Smiley, Lydon, Griswold and Golba voting yea and with Commissioner Otsuji absent.