PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING OF MAY 3, 2012 IN SILVER ROOM AT THE CONCOURSE CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Naslund called the meeting to order at 9:09 a.m. Chairperson Naslund adjourned the meeting at 1:49 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Eric Naslund - present Vice-Chairperson Tim Golba - present Commissioner Robert Griswold – present Commissioner Susan Peerson - present Commissioner Mary Lydon - absent Commissioner Mike Smiley – present Commissioner Stephen Haase - present

<u>Staff</u> Nina Fain, City Attorney – present Christine Rothman, Development Services Dept. – Planning Division – present Cecilia Gallardo, Development Services Dept. – present Don Weston, Development Services Dept. - present Brenda Clark, Recorder - present ITEM - 1: ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT - ISSUES WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION NOT PREVIOUSLY HEARD:

Kevin Swanson

ITEM - 2: REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCE AND/OR ITEMS TO BE WITHDRAWN:

NONE

ITEM - 3: REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA:

ITEM #7 – SPRINT NEXTEL JUTLAND – PROJECT NO. 255594 ITEM #8 – SPRINT CHURCH NAZARENE – PROJECT NO. 241184 ITEM #9 – CROWN CASTLE TW PARKWAY – PROJECT NO. 229032 ITEM #10 – 1500 BLOCK E/F STREET ALLEY VACATION – PROJECT NO. 229932 ITEM #11 – SPRINT NEXTEL – FLETCHER HILLS – PROJECT NO. 256587 ITEM # 12 – SEACREST EXTENSION OF TIME – PROJECT NO. 264468

ITEM - 4: **DIRECTOR'S REPORT:**

Uptown-North Park-Greater Golden Hill CPU Cluster

Staff will be presenting the draft land use maps at each of the community's respective planning group meetings starting this month. Please check the Uptown, North Park, and Greater Golden Hill planning group agendas for more details.

ITEM - 5: COMMISSION COMMENT:

NONE

ITEM – 6: SUNROAD CENTRUM RESIDENTIAL PHASES 3-5 – PROJECT NO. 257079 City Council District: 6 Plan Area: Kearny Mesa

Staff: Jeannette Temple

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Tom Story.

PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES FOR MAY 3, 2012

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Deborah Seiler.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER SMILEY MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE VESTING TENTATIVE MAP NO. 905834 AND PLANNED DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 905832. Commissioner Griswold seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Naslund, Smiley, Haase, Peerson, Griswold and Golba voting yea and with Commissioner Lydon absent.

ITEM – 7: SPRINT NEXTEL JUTLAND – PROJECT NO. 255594 City Council District: 6 Plan Area: Clairemont Mesa

Staff: Alex Hempton

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Anne Regan.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER GOLBA MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Peerson, and Golba voting yea and with Commissioner Griswold recusing and with Commissioner Lydon absent.

ITEM – 8: SPRINT CHURCH NAZARENE – PROJECT NO. 241184

City Council District: 3

Plan Area: City Heights

Staff: Alex Hempton

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Anne Regan.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER GOLBA MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Peerson, and Golba voting yea and with Commissioner Griswold recusing and with Commissioner Lydon absent.

ITEM – 9:CROWN CASTLE TW PARKWAY – PROJECT NO. 229032City Council District:1Plan Area: Torrey Highlands

Staff: Alex Hempton

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Yumi Kim.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER GOLBA MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Peerson, and Golba voting yea and with Commissioner Griswold recusing and with Commissioner Lydon absent.

ITEM – 10: 1500 BLOCK E/F STREET ALLEY VACATION – PROJECT NO. 229932

City Council District: 2

Plan Area: Downtown

Staff: John S. Fisher

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Sam Patella.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER GOLBA MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Peerson, Golba and Griswold voting yea and with Commissioner Lydon absent.

ITEM - 11:SPRINT NEXTEL - FLETCHER HILLS - PROJECT NO. 256587City Council District:7Plan Area:Navajo

Staff: Jeffrey A. Peterson

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Anne Regan.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project.

COMMISSION ACTION:

PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES FOR MAY 3, 2012

COMMISSIONER GOLBA MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Peerson, and Golba voting yea and with Commissioner Griswold recusing and with Commissioner Lydon absent.

ITEM – 12: **SEACREST EXTENSION OF TIME – PROJECT NO. 264468**

City Council District: 2

Plan Area: Pacific Beach

Staff: Morris Dye

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Sasha Varone.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER SMILEY MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Griswold seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Peerson, Haase, Smiley and Griswold voting yea and with Commissioner Golba recusing and with Commissioner Lydon absent.

Chairperson Naslund called for a five minute break from 10:15 am to 10:20 am.

BALBOA PARK - PLAZA DE PANAMA - PROJECT NO. 233958 ITEM – 13: City Council District: 3 Plan Area: Balboa Park

Staff: Charles Daniels

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Fred Vickerman, Sharon Gehl, Kristen Byrne, Jeffery Kirsh, Mathew Willilams, Anne Laddon, David Pallinger, Elizabeth Costello, Robin Munro.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Judith O'Boyle, Ron Buckley, Howard Blackson, Bruce Coons, Alana Coons, Jarvis Ross, Tom Henry, Rachelle Domingo-Rogers, Yvonne St. Pierre, Luis Delgado, Sari Reznick, John Ziebarth, Jean Samuels, Chester Yamage, Jay Shumacker, Mark Claar, Kevin Swanson, Dan Soderberg, Pat Herron, Dionne Carlson.

COMMISSION ACTION:

NO ACTION REQUIRED