PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF JUNE 7, 2012 IN CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Naslund called the meeting to order at 9:08 a.m. Chairperson Naslund adjourned the meeting at 4:50 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Eric Naslund - present Vice-Chairperson Tim Golba - present Commissioner Robert Griswold – present Commissioner Sue Peerson - present Commissioner Mary Lydon - present Commissioner Mike Smiley – present Commissioner Stephen Haase - present

Staff

Shannon Thomas, City Attorney – present Christine Rothman, Development Services Dept. - Planning Division - present Mike Westlake, Development Services Department – present Julie Ballasteros, Development Services Department - present Brenda Clark, Recorder – present Yoshie Howser, Recorder - present

ITEM - 1: ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT - ISSUES WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION NOT PREVIOUSLY HEARD:

Christion Chaffee and Elizabeth Chaffee.

ITEM - 2: REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCE AND/OR ITEMS TO BE WITHDRAWN:

NONE

ITEM - 3: REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA:

NONE

ITEM - 4: **DIRECTOR'S REPORT:**

Christine Rothman reported:

SANDAG Smart Growth Incentive Program grant

On Wednesday June 27th, we will hold a Mid-City BRT Planning Study Working Group Meeting. The purpose of the meeting is to present the land use, mobility, and implementation components of the study. The meeting will start at approximately 6:00pm and will be held at the office of the El Cajon Boulevard Business Improvement Association – 3727 El Cajon Blvd.

ITEM - 5: **COMMISSION COMMENT:**

NONE

ITEM – 6: APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM MAY 3, 2012 AND MAY 17, 2012.

COMMISSIONER SMILEY MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM MAY 3, 2012. Commissioner Peerson seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners

Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon, Peerson and Golba voting yea and with Commissioner Griswold absent.

COMMISSIOSNER SMILEY MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM MAY 17 2012. Commissioner Peerson seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon, Peerson and Golba voting yea and with Commissioner Griswold absent.

Chairperson, Naslund, called for a 10 minute break from 10:40 am to 10:50 am.

Chiarperson, Naslund, called for a 30 minute lunch break from 12 noon to 12:30 pm.

Chairperson, Naslund, called for a 10 minute break from 2:20 pm to 2:30 pm.

TEM – 7: *BALBOA PARK – PLAZA DE PANAMA - PROJECT NO. 233958
 City Council District: 3 Plan Area: Balboa Park

Staff: Charles Daniels, Park and Recreation Department

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Danny Sherlock, Art Ballantyne, Peter Ellsworth, Darrell Torres, Marilyn Miles, Michael Hager, Ashley Young, Bobby Van Hollbeke, Deena Takato, Holly Robertson, Kathy Puplava, David Malmuth, Mel Katz, Dennis Otsuji, Martin Poirier, Leo Wilson, Salvatore Giametta, Ian Epley, Paul Meyer, Jim Madaffer, Tony Winney, Susan Schiffer, Paul Black, Adam Day, Lisa Misuore, Ha Park, Kisik Lee, Ben Clay, Sharon Gehl, Tom Fox, Michael Moyee, Chuck Hellerich, Frank Urtasun, Iris Engstrand, Reed Vickerman, Mark Steele, Rob Quigley, Phil Blair, Michael Seidel, Rich Geisler, Danny Sherlock, James Unger, Bill Diehl, Cord Chang, Michael G. Murphy, Carmen Sandoval, Michael McDowell, Mary Ellen Stives, Larry Hoeksema, Paul Meyer for Bill Walton, Peter Ellsworth, Matthew Williams, Karen Momper, Steve Hutter, Patricia Amilk, Chris Murphy, Donna Jones, Mark Leslie, Paul Webster, John Beuart, Irina Hunton, Elizabeth Meeker, Rick Geisler, David Pallinger, Julie Meier Wright, Keaton Chia, Kia Maron, Karen Gauthier, Jim Bartell, Mark Payne, Chris Ruiz, Lauren Nunnally, Jan Emerson, Joye Blount, David Malmuth, Jamie Engelhardt, Kerri Kress, Bridget Hall, Susan Evanco, Micah Parzen, Phil Rath, Barbara Starr, Amy Krakower, Rob Sidner, Charles Hellerich, Carol Chang, Roxanna Velasquez, Tom Gildred, Kathy McDonald, Chris Duggan, Jerry Harris, Joe Terzi, Jim Kidrick, Marx Marlow, Amy Denhart, Diana Lindsay, Kim Heller, Reed Vickerman, Rob Fitch, Michael While, David Marshall, Bobbi Herdes, Mark Johnson, Scott Williams, Scott Jordan, Kristen Byrne, Gordon Kovtun, Irwin Jacobs.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Jay Coffman, Bill Lewis, Bruce Coons, Dean Glass, Jessica McGee, Jokie Tolentino, Victor Santana, Ashley Christensen, Marti Kranzberg, Judith O'Boyle, Sande Lollis, Catherine O'Leary Carey, Elizabeth Chaffee, Christian Chaffee, Howard Blackson, Jay Shumaker, Philip Bona, John Ziebarth, Nicole Larson, Drarv Larson, Tom Henry, Fred Sobke, Anthony Mendiola, Una Pierce, Douglas Scott, John Ziebarth, Ron Buckley, Nancy Moores, Amy Becker, Kim Grant, Rob Steppke, Myles Pomeroy, Suzanne Rogers, Joan Dahlin, Marjorie Larson, Virginia Silverman, Beryl Flom, Jean Samuels, Ann Zahner, David Krimmel, Dan Soderberg, Elizabeth Morris, John Lomac, Michael Kelly, Ron Sinnen, Alana Coons, John Oldenkamp, Ramona Kiltz, Judith Swink, Carin Howard, Dionne Carlson, Katherine Hon, Welton Jones, Ana Garrord, Bernadine King, Richard May, Mike Singleton, Steven Greenwald, Sari Reznick, Vicki Granowitz, John Eisenhart, Zack Hayman, Deirdre Lee, Kevin Swanson.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER GOLBA MADE THE MOTION TO RECOMMEND CERTIFICATION OF THE ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT REPORT FOR THE PLAZA DE PANAMA PROJECT, PROJECT NO. 233958, AND ADOPTION OF THE MITIGATION, MONITORING AND REPORTING PROGRAM, AND THE APPLICANT'S FINDINGS AND STATEMENT OF OVERRIDING CONSIDERATIONS; AND RECOMMEND APPROVAL OF BALBOA PARK MASTER PLAN AND CENTRAL MESA PRECISE PLAN AMENDMENT NO. 837847 AND SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 837848. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon, Peerson, Griswold and Golba voting yea.