PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF JUNE 28, 2012 IN CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Naslund called the meeting to order at 9:07 a.m. Chairperson Naslund adjourned the meeting at 2:40 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Eric Naslund - present Vice-Chairperson Tim Golba - present Commissioner Robert Griswold – absent Commissioner Sue Peerson - present Commissioner Mary Lydon - absent Commissioner Mike Smiley – present Commissioner Stephen Haase - present

Staff

Nina Fain, City Attorney – present Corrine Neuffer, City Attorney - present Christine Rothman, Development Services Dept. - Planning Division - present Cecilia Gallardo, Development Services Department – present Don Weston, Development Services Department - present Brenda Clark, Recorder – present

ITEM - 1: ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT - ISSUES WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION NOT PREVIOUSLY HEARD:

NONE

ITEM - 2: REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCE AND/OR ITEMS TO BE WITHDRAWN:

NONE

ITEM - 3: REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA:

ITEM #9 – TECHNICAL AMENDMENT FOR MAP ERROR

ITEM - 4: **DIRECTOR'S REPORT:**

Christine Rothman reported:

With regard to the Midway Pacific Highway Community Plan Update, staff and the consultant team presented land use and mobility concepts to the Community Plan Update Advisory Committee. We received valuable input and as a result, we will continue the presentation on July 18th from 3-5pm at 3249 Fordham Street.

Regarding the Old Town San Diego Community Plan Update, staff and the consultant team presented land use concepts to the Community Plan Update Advisory Committee. We received valuable input and as a result, we will continue the presentation on July 11th from 3-5pm at the Whaley House, 2476 San Diego Avenue.

ITEM - 5: **COMMISSION COMMENT:**

Commissioner Smiley wished a farewell to City Attorney, Nina Fain.

Commissioner Naslund also wished her good luck in her new endeavors.

ITEM – 6: APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM JUNE 7, 2012 AND JUNE 14, 2012.

COMMISSIONER SMILEY MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM JUNE 7, 2012. Commissioner Peerson seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Peerson and Golba voting yea and with Commissioners Lydon and Griswold absent.

COMMISSIONER SMILEY MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM JUNE 14, 2012. Commissioner Peerson seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Peerson and Golba voting yea and with Commissioners Lydon and Griswold absent.

Chairperson Naslund called for a five (5) minute break from 10:55 am to 11:00 am

Chairperson Naslund called for a thirty (30) minute lunch break from 12:20 pm to 12:50 pm.

ITEM – 7: Continued from March 15, 2012; Continued from April 26, 2012

QUAIL BRUSH COMMUNITY PLAN AMENDMENT INITIATION – PROJECT NO. 270282

City Council District: 7 Plan Area: East Elliott

Staff: Daniel Monroe

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Jessica Luagnauer, Chris Wahl, Brooke Ellison, Jennifer Badgley, Nick Segura, Lori Ziebart, Robin Madaffer, Todd Greenwell, Travis Chapman, Ian Stewart, Sean Karafin, Scott Hassor, Erik Bruvold, Gary Sallis, Eric Sallis, Janelle Riella, Joe Mejia, Theresa Andrews, Vince Signorotti, Tom Lemmon, Carmen Sandoval, Faith Picking, Jason Anderson, Paul Webster, Christina Whn, Rick Volker, Chris Duggan, Liz Higgins, Jim Cunningham, Mike Hartley, Johnny Simbon, Randy Lenac, Edmund Goldring, John Marsden, James Kida, Michael York, Ray Salazar, Pete Vargas, Tom Kunde.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Jay Powell, Dana Vanderip, Linsey Friske, Judi Ravetti, Masada Disenhouse, Rudy Reyes, Pam Edmondson, Phyllis Adcox, Stephen Houlahan, Sonja Ramos, Pete Ramos, Van Collinsworth, Shelley Plumb, Kim Brewstor, Ms. Jason Feathers, Cathy Carry, Joan Dahlia, John Mustol, Glen Scorgie, Ben

Kierulff, Jennifer Myce, Jean Costa, Bill Powers, Roslind Varghese, Geri Breininger, Theresa McCarthy, Kevin McCarthy, Patty Mooney, Mario Crivello, Margaret Sullivan, Pete Hasapopoulos, Kevin Brewstor, Retha Knight, Tatiana Braden, Scott Braden, Mike Walker, Sybil Walker, Ed Clanky, David Secor, Pat Hurley, Phil Connor, Heidi Handy, Gudren Pfister, Alan Breininger, Pauline Keoward, Jimmy Gaffney, Laurie Baker, James Bruton, Robert Cook, Michael Press, Nicholoas Duham, Jim Peugh, Tina Nagel, Pat Sarrausky, Patricia Murphy, Lane4 Sharman, Hugh Moore, Charles Ringer, Sylvia Sullivan, Vicki Call, Eid Fakhour, David Richardson, Armin Kuhlman, Rhea Kuhlman, Erin Beach, Susan Wu, Chris Sullivan, Kelly Kreuzinger, Jim Hamilton, Susan Lewitt, Beth Frice, John Frice, Jamie Edmonds, Al Biselli, Mia Mortellaro, Pedro Orso, John Minto, Sallie McSparrar, Emily Cox, Dylan Van Cleve, Kay Stewart, Gregory Gross, Kristen Roth, Pat Feldman, Susan Frice, Margie Logue, Amy Marrah, Nicole Spritz, Kathy Williams, Maria Masirez, Melanie Kush, Victoria Fine, Todd Cardiff, Gudrun Pfesta, Kent Aden, Maynard Kartvedt, Maraya Fernandez, Alyssa Fernandez, Garrett Fernandez, Catarina Fernandez, Johnny Pappas, Abigail Rosas, Cathe Williams, Merritt Bates, Jr., Whcuael Allen, Rose Dermody, Barbara Tamulski, Joy Williams, Kayla Race.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER HAASE MADE THE MOTION TO DENY THE AMENDMENT INITIATION. Commissioner Peerson seconded the motion. The motion failed by a vote of 3-2-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase and Peerson voting yea and with Commissioners Smiley and Golba voting nay and with Commissioners Lydon and Griswold absent. This item was trailed to July 19, 2012.

ITEM – 8: **DOUMA RESIDENCE – PROJECT NO. 236671**

City Council District: 1 Plan Area: Ocean Beach

Staff: Sandra Teasley

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by John Douma, Elizabeth Young.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Scott Therkalsen, Peter Ruscitti, Landry Watson, Thomas Gawronski, Jane Gawronski.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER NASLUND MADE THE MOTION TO CONTINUE THIS ITEM TO A DATE CERTAIN OF JULY 12, 2012. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with

PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES FOR JUNE 28, 2012

Commissioner Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Peerson and Golba voting yea and with Commissioners Lydon and Griswold absent.

ITEM – 9: TECHNICAL AMENDMENT FOR MAP ERROR

City Council District: 5 Plan Area: Scripps Miramar Ranch

Staff: Tony Kempton

No speaker slips in favor of the project.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER GOLBA MADE THE MOTION TO PUT THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioner Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Peerson and Golba voting yea and with Commissioners Lydon and Griswold absent.