PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF SEPTEMBER 27, 2012 IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Naslund called the meeting to order at 11:29 a.m. Chairperson Naslund adjourned the meeting at 4:10 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Eric Naslund – present Vice-Chairperson Tim Golba – present Commissioner Robert Griswold – absent Commissioner Sue Peerson – absent Commissioner Mary Lydon – present Commissioner Michael Smiley – present Commissioner Stephen Haase – present

Staff

Shannon Thomas, City Attorney – present Cecilia Gallardo, Development Services Department - Planning Division – present Mike Westlake, Development Services Department – present Don Weston, Development Services Department – present Stacie Maxwell, Recorder – present

- ITEM 1: ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT ISSUES WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION NOT PREVIOUSLY HEARD: None
- ITEM 2: REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCE AND/OR ITEMS TO BE WITHDRAWN: None
- ITEM 3: REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA: ITEM 8 – Mira Mesa Medical Center-Project No. 276913 ITEM 9 – Touchstone Investments-Project No. 166941 ITEM 10 – AT&T East Scripps Ranch-Project No. 261080
- ITEM 4: **DIRECTOR'S REPORT:**

No Director's Report given.

ITEM – 5: **COMMISSION COMMENT:**

None.

ITEM – 6: Appeal of Hearing Officer's decision on September 15, 2010

LA JOLLA CHILDREN'S POOL ROPE BARRIER – PROJECT NO. 213317

City Council District: 1

Plan Area: La Jolla

Staff: Morris E. Dye

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Laura Riebau and John Lomac.

Speaker slips in opposition to the appeal and in favor of the project were submitted by Michael Gold, Pam Slater-Price, Adam Kaye, Bill Hathaway, Jason Holland, Esther Sanchez, Donna Frye, Tanya Forrest, Janice McKalson, Suzanne Geller, Marcia Patt, Carol Archibald, Elizabeth Jacobelly, Janet Harbruch, Jane Reldan, Joanette Arrigo, Julie Krause, Else Tencheit, Eugene Nagy, Joseph Cordaro, Rebecca Neary, Edward Kane, Jim FitzGerald, Gerold Gordon, Deborah Saracini, Claudia Maestre, Robert Mead, Renata Ferriera, Diane Castaneda, Margot Verhoek, Marilies Schoepflin, Jean Jacobelly, Edward McKalson, Lynn Bruser, Shana Balfour, Bryan Pease, Deborah Cohen, Catherine Krell, Shannon Player, Valerie Sanfilippo, Soraya Lanna Venhock, Ellen Stanton, Cindy Benner, B. Schmidt, Gregory Gross, Ellen Shively, Cindy Trubovitz, Lynn Laumann, Lynn Wilson, Sheryl Facer, Betty Ball, Gary Takessian, Laura Riebau,

Marty Aquilar, Sallie McSparrow, Ilse Takessian, Margo Verhoek, and Hollie Bigger.

Speaker slips in favor of the appeal and opposed to the project were submitted by Odile Costello, Debbie Beacham, Scott Anderson, Jan Franken, Joe LaCava, John Leek, Lyle Beller, David Johnson, Clement Hoffman, Michael Costello, Barry Wagner, Peter Clark, Patrick Ahern, Jasko Topalovic, Michael Rice, Ken Hunrichs, Stan Minick, Matthew Poole, John Everett, Marie Hunrichs, Melinda Merryweather, Bob Ewing, Cassandra Ewing, Ryan Lawler, Bryant Smith, Justin Schaefli, Patti Buchanan, Gheri Aspenleiter, James Johnson, Don Perry, Ryan Sweeney, Jason Lee Bennett, Kay Ryckman, Portia Wadsworth, David Pierce, and Phyllis Minick.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER SMILEY MADE THE MOTION TO UPHOLD THE APPEAL AND DENY THE AMENDMENT TO SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NUMBER 701765. THIS ACTION VACATES THE PLANNING COMMISSION'S DECISION OF DECEMBER 9, 2010. Commissioner Golba seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon, and Golba voting yea and with Commissioners Griswold and Peerson absent

ITEM –7: *Expedite*

ROCK STREET RESIDENCE – PROJECT NO. 267163

City Council District: 7 Plan Area: Eastern Area

Staff: Jeffrey A. Peterson

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Michael Gehl and Laura Riebau.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted by Jasko Topalovic and Michael Rice.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER SMILEY MADE THE MOTION TO RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE VARIANCE NO. 983078. RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE EASEMENT VACATION NO. 968431. RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE PUBLIC RIGHT-OF-WAY VACACTION NO. 968432. Commissioner Golba seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon, and Golba voting yea and with Commissioners Griswold and Peerson absent.

ITEM – 8: MIRA MESA MEDICAL CENTER – PROJECT NO. 276913 City Council District: 5

Plan Area: Mira Mesa

Staff: John S. Fisher

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by David Ornelas and Brett Feuerstein.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER LYDON MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon, and Golba voting yea and with Commissioners Griswold and Peerson absent

TOUCHSTONE INVESTMENTS – PROJECT NO. 166941 ITEM -9: City Council District: 1

Plan Area: University

Staff: Tim Daly

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Marcia Adams, Matt Barlow, Jim Darby and Tammie Moreno.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER LYDON MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon, and Golba voting yea and with Commissioners Griswold and Peerson absent.

AT&T EAST SCRIPPS RANCH - PROJECT NO. 261080 ITEM – 10: City Council District: 5 Plan Area: Scripps Miramar Ranch

Staff: Karen Lynch-Ashcraft

No speaker slips in favor to the project were submitted.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER LYDON MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The

motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon, and Golba voting yea and with Commissioners Griswold and Peerson absent.