PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF DECEMBER 13, 2012 IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Naslund called the meeting to order at 9:08 a.m. Chairperson Naslund adjourned the meeting at 3:18 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Eric Naslund – present Vice-Chairperson Tim Golba – present Commissioner Robert Griswold – in at 9:31 a.m. Commissioner Sue Peerson – present Commissioner Mary Lydon – present Commissioner Michael Smiley – present Commissioner Stephen Haase – present

Staff

Shannon Thomas, City Attorney – present Cecilia Gallardo, Development Services Department-Planning Division – present Mike Westlake, Development Services Department – present Don Weston, Development Services Department – present Stacie Maxwell, Recorder – present Carmina Trajano, Recorder – present

ITEM – 1: ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT - ISSUES WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION NOT PREVIOUSLY HEARD:

NONE

ITEM – 2: REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCE AND/OR ITEMS TO BE WITHDRAWN:

NONE

ITEM – 3: REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA:

ITEM # 7 – OCEAN VIEW CHURCH – PROJECT NO. 205163 ITEM # 8 – TIERRASANTA TOWNHOMES TELECOM – PROJECT NO. 259455 ITEM # 11 – 34TH AND RESIDENCES – PROJECT NO.128129

ITEM – 4: **DIRECTOR'S REPORT:**

NONE

ITEM – 5. **COMMISSION COMMENT:**

NONE

ITEM – 6: Continued from November 29, 2012

*PALATINE - PROJECT NO. 2011-43

City Council District: 2 Plan Area: Downtown

Staff: Lucy Contreras

Speaker slips in favor of the appeal, opposed to the project submitted by Greg Hagen, John F. Labsan, Tom McMahan, Moe Siry, Michael Gammard, Mary Ann Tarantino and Andrew Contasti.

Speaker slips in opposition to the appeal, in favor of the project submitted by Duanne Shinnick, Neil Hyytinen and John Starr.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER SMILEY MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE CENTRE CITY PLANNED DEVELOPMENT PERMIT 2011-42- LITTLE ITALY NEIGHBORHOOD OF THE DOWNTOWN COMMUNITY PLAN AREA. Commissioner Golba seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-2-0 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon and Golba voting yea and with Commissioners Peerson and Griswold voting nay.

ITEM -7: OCEAN VIEW CHURCH - PROJECT NO. 205163

City Council District: 8 Plan Area: Otay Mesa Nestor

Staff: Renee Mezo

Speaker slip in favor of the project submitted by Guy Ocheltree.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER LYDON MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Golba seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon and Golba voting yea and with Commissioner Peerson recusing and Commissioner Griswold absent.

ITEM – 8: TIERRASANTA TOWNHOMES TELECOM – PROJECT NO. 259455

City Council District: 7 Plan Area: Tierrasanta

Staff: Karen Lynch-Ashcraft

No speaker slips in favor of the project were submitted.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER LYDON MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Golba seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon, Peerson and Golba voting yea and Commissioner Griswold absent.

PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES FOR DECEMBER 13, 2012

ITEM –9: Appeal of Hearing Officer's decision on October 10, 2012

EDUARDO'S - PROJECT NO. 268446

City Council District: 8 Plan Area: Southeast San

Diego

Staff: Tim Daly

Speaker slips in favor of the appeal, opposed to the project submitted by Nicholas Rogers, Hugh Muhammad, Denise Reed, Mark Guerra, Charles Alexander, Williams Penick, Karen Lenyoun, Marsha Lyon, Carl Bradford, Patricia Davis, Debra Davis, Billy Moore, Christopher Morris, Ferdinand Bernal, John McClure, Mike Green, Johnny Van Lofton, Ninus Malan, Christopher Puttbrese, Lamar Jackson, Titus Daniel, Hyun S. Whyte, Jason D. Smith, Malaika Washington, Melchor Balderas, Judi Patterson, Anthony Tucker, Pastor Brian Buggs, Maria G. Rodriguez, Flor Gutierrez, Le Mar Slater and Florinda Castañeda.

Speaker slips in opposition to the appeal, in favor of the project submitted by Sam Brotman, Rocio Cisneros, Ronnie Shamoun, Mike Hiden, Josefina Romero, Laura G. Diaz Mora, Gabriel Sanchez, Jwad Alnemaq, Marco Castañeda, Lourdes Flores, Jose Mendez, Consuelo M. Shindelbower, Maria Zepeda, Gloria James, Alicia Perez, Ana Ibarra, Jack Smith, Louie Dallo, Isabel Antillon, Robert C. Leif, Estela Martinez and Guadalupe G. Vargas.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER HAASE MADE THE MOTION TO CONTINUE THIS ITEM TO FEBRUARY 28, 2013. Commissioner Golba seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon, Peerson, Griswold and Golba voting yea.

ITEM –10: Appeal of Hearing Officer's decision on October 10, 2012

TONG RESIDENCE EXTENSION OF TIME - PROJECT NO. 280468

City Council District: 1 Plan Area: La Jolla

Staff: Glenn Gargas

Speaker slip in favor of the appeal, opposed to the project submitted by Tony Crisafi.

Speaker slips in opposition to the appeal, in favor of the project submitted by Albert Morone, Elaina Neiman, Dana Lee and Kenneth Tong.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER HAASE MADE THE MOTION TO DENY THE APPEAL AND APPROVE EXTENSION OF TIME PERMIT NO. 985084. Commissioner Peerson seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon, Peerson and Griswold voting yea and with Commissioner Golba recusing.

ITEM -11: 34th AND RESIDENCES - PROJECT NO. 128129

City Council District: 8 Plan Area: Southeastern San

Diego

Staff: PJ Fitzgerald

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Brian Revelli and Dan Linn.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER LYDON MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT. Commissioner Golba seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Naslund, Haase, Smiley, Lydon, Peerson and Golba voting yea and Commissioner Griswold absent.

ITEM –12: STATUS OF COMMUNITY PLAN UPDATES

City Council District: Citywide Plan Area: Citywide

Staff: Cecilia Gallardo

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Beth Jaworski, Leo Wilson, Joe La Cava, Jim Varnadore and Joseph Naskar.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Robert C. Leif.

COMMISSION ACTION:

Information only. No action taken.