PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF SEPTEMBER 25, 2014 IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Golba called the meeting to order at 9:04 a.m. Chairperson Golba adjourned the meeting at 12:00 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Tim Golba – present Vice-Chairperson Stephen Haase – present Commissioner James Whalen – present Commissioner Anthony Wagner – out at 11:23 a.m. Commissioner Sue Peerson – out at 11:23 a.m. Commissioner Theresa Quiroz – present Commissioner Douglas Austin – present

Staff

Shannon Thomas, City Attorney – out at 9:10 a.m.
Corrine Neuffer, City Attorney – present
Nancy Bragado, Planning, Neighborhoods & Economic Development Department. - present
Jeannette Temple, Development Services Department – present
Don Weston, Development Services Department - present
Carmina Trajano, Recorder – present

ITEM – 1: ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT - ISSUES WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION NOT PREVIOUSLY HEARD:

NONE

ITEM – 2: REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCE AND/OR ITEMS TO BE WITHDRAWN:

NONE

ITEM – 3: REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA:

ITEM # 9 – LA MIRAGE APARTMENTS – PROJECT NO. 346480

ITEM -4: **DIRECTOR'S REPORT:**

Nancy Bragado announced that the Planning Department will be holding a public workshop to get an input for Urban Forest Management Plan on September 29, 2014 from 6-8 p.m. at Balboa Park, War Memorial Bldg. Online survey is also available on the Planning Department website under Programs and Projects.

ITEM – 5: **COMMISSION COMMENT:**

NONE

ITEM – 6: APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM SEPTEMBER 11, 2014.

COMMISSIONER WAGNER MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM SEPTEMBER 11, 2014. Commissioner Whalen seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Golba, Haase, Austin, Quiroz, Wagner and Whalen voting yea and with Commissioner Peerson abstaining.

ITEM – 7: Appeal of Development Services Department's decision on June 25, 2014

WHALE WATCH WAY – PROJECT NO. 328415 City Council District: 1 Plan Area: La Jolla Speaker slips in favor of the project, opposed to appeal submitted by Paul Robinson, Dan Smargon and James Brown.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project, in favor of the appeal submitted by Murry Birkhead, Gilda Caringi, Michael Costello, Henriette de Jong, Myrna Naegle, Peggy Davis, Dolores Donovan, Grace McCormack and Philip Merten.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER WAGNER MADE THE MOTION TO CONTINUE THIS ITEM TO DECEMBER 18, 2014 Commissioner Austin seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0 with Commissioners Golba, Haase, Austin, Quiroz, Peerson, Wagner and Whalen voting yea.

ITEM – 8: **GRAND DEL MAR – PROJECT NO.289870**

City Council District: 1 Plan Area: Carmel Valley & Del Mar Mesa

Staff: John S. Fisher

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Anne Harvey, John Eardensohn, Erich Lathens, Perry Dealy and Paul Metcalf.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER WAGNER MADE THE MOTION TO CERTIFY MITIGATED NEGATIVE DECLARATION NO. 289870 AND ADOPT THE MITIGATION MONITORING AND REPORTING PROGRAM; AND APPROVE SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 1248236 AND MHPA BOUNDARY LINE ADJUSTMENT NO. 1285792; AND NOTE THE APPLICANT INTENT TO PROVIDE THE AMOUNT OF \$250,000 TO THE COMMUNITY PLANNING GROUP. Commissioner Whalen seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Golba, Haase, Quiroz, Wagner and Whalen voting yea and with Commissioners Austin and Peerson recusing.

ITEM – 9: LA MIRAGE APARTMENTS – PROJECT NO. 346480

City Council District: 7 Plan Area: Tierrasanta

Staff: Morris E. Dye

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by John Hyde, Nate Johnson and Janay Kruger.

PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES FOR SEPTEMBER 25, 2014

No speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted.

COMMISSIONER WAGNER MADE THE MOTION TO PLACE THIS ITEM ON CONSENT TO APPROVE STAFF RECOMMENDATION.

Commissioner Quiroz seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Golba, Haase, Quiroz, Peerson, Wagner and Whalen voting yea and with Commissioner Austin recusing.