PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF OCTOBER 2, 2014 IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Golba called the meeting to order at 9:07 a.m. Chairperson Golba adjourned the meeting at 3:13 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Tim Golba – present Vice-Chairperson Stephen Haase – present Commissioner James Whalen – out at 1:41p.m. Commissioner Anthony Wagner – present Commissioner Sue Peerson – out at 10:04 a.m. Commissioner Theresa Quiroz – present Commissioner Douglas Austin – out at 10:04 a.m.

Staff

Corrine Neuffer, City Attorney – present Nancy Bragado, Planning, Neighborhoods & Economic Development Department. - present Mike Westlake, Development Services Department – present Don Weston, Development Services Department - present Carmina Trajano, Recorder – present

ITEM – 1: ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT - ISSUES WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION NOT PREVIOUSLY HEARD:

NONE

ITEM – 2: REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCE AND/OR ITEMS TO BE WITHDRAWN:

NONE

ITEM – 3: REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA:

NONE

ITEM -4: **DIRECTOR'S REPORT:**

Nancy Bragado announced that the City's Updated Climate Action Plan and the new Draft for the Grantville Master Plan which is an Amendment to the Navajo Community Plan are now posted on the City's website. Also on Monday, the City Council initiated an Amendment to the University Community Plan.

ITEM – 5: **COMMISSION COMMENT:**

NONE

ITEM – 6: Appeal of Hearing Officer's decision on May 28, 2014

T-MOBILE AVENIDA VENUSTO ROW – PROJECT NO. 333439City Council District: 5 Plan Area: Rancho Bernardo

Staff: Simon Tse

Speaker slips in favor of the project, opposed to appeal submitted by Ben Rubin, and Debra D. Gardner

Speaker slips in opposition to the project, in favor of the appeal submitted by George Leitner and Victoria Touchstone.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER WAGNER MADE THE MOTION TO DENY THE APPEAL AND UPHOLD THE HEARING OFFICER'S DECISION TO DENY CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT (CUP) NO. 1268019. Commissioner Whalen seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0 with Commissioners Golba, Haase, Austin, Quiroz, Peerson, Wagner and Whalen voting yea.

ITEM – 7: **ONE PASEO – PROJECT NO. 193036**

City Council District: 1 Plan Area: Carmel Valley

Staff: Renee Mezo

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Anne Spencer, Nick Bonner, Eric Jones, Mike Hoeck, Kyle Lane, Brett Ward, Robert T. Merkin, Dawn Norman, Pat Collins, James Duncan, Mickey Moreno, James Gwilliam, Mike Moser, Dr. Nancy Lynch, Julie Menas, Janis Overlund, Rosa Garbiras, Carlos Garbiras, Ben Sperling, Alexandra Neeley, Alan Jones, Steve Grimes, Pat Setter, Marc Harris, Joell Yazzonlino, Tiffany Hilborn, David Shepherd, Susan Sharp, Kelly Mercado, Roxan DeGennaro, Trent Smiley, Steve Scott, Jake Brehen, Marc Kaplan, Jeff Chine, Adriana Fernandez, Matt McLaughlin, Robert Merkin, Mike Hazard, Ryan Egli, Marck Nicvels, David Simon, Alisa Reinhardt, Scott Brussean, Teresa Backer, Vincent Andreucetti, Byron Tyron, Gaby Stratten, Judith Sherman, Julie Robson, Jeannie Kim, Tim Noonan, Michael Nelson, Adriana Heramb, Chris Ghio, Robert Gaughen, Stephan Gaspar, Martin Epstein, Brian Epperson, Dave Lepton, Bill Collins, Tim Edwards, Kurt Lester, Lisa Lester, Rada Garcia, Robin Merchant, Steve Thomas, Sean Burns, Matthew Brady, Jake Schwartz, Brian Lewis, Michael Williams, Virginia Patridge, Linda Katzman, Delinda Forsythe, Dennis Glaser, Thomas Jakebowski, Charlie Synn, Stella Sung, Cynthia Dial, Brian Driscoll, Carol Klein, David Lun, Matt Adams, Steve Burton, Mike Ruff, Lisa Leweck, Mike Novkov, Mike Yentile, Jeannie Condry, Jill Sarbiewski, Michael Mahoney, Patrick Collin, Kimberly McNeil, Mike Orlando, Michelle Hejza, Andy Ladow, Leslie Jackson, Kristen Schofield, Sherman Harmer, Lonnie Druliner, Jennifer Richardson, Britany Statt, Andy Hanslaw, Paul Danninger, Sean Barr, Stacie Greene, Elyse Lowe, Chanelle Hawkins, Janette Littler, Beth Broussalian, Robert Little, Mike Stepner, Frank Wolden, Howard Elkus, Marcela Escobar-Eck, John Leppert, Jason Stack, Rich Gibson, John Boarman, Will Soholt, Gary London, Theresa Becker, Lisa Hoeck, Mike Hoeck, Frank Muchnik, Julie Mercado Robson, Scott Sandel, Alexandra Stoelzle, Lenette Hewitt, Tracy Aragon, Tyler Sherer, Henryk Pedersen, Jennifer Roy, Clifton Williams, Stephanie Cosman, Nathan Moeder, Patrick Gibson, Jacob Swim, Andy Schlaefli, Rachel Laing, Lucy Ma, Bryce Reich, Kathy Lucker, Christine Aghassi, Bruce McIntyre, Tony Dieli, Rick Reeder, Kathi Riser, Rich Miller,

Heather Riley, Steve Thomas, Phil Tate, Justin Smart, Brian Brady, Mike Cafferty, Ann Kern and Maya Grim

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Karen Snyder, Brandon Haney, Donald J. Moore, Eileen Huffman, Rose Edney, Alice McNally, Patricia Marshall, Diana Sheffler, Kaaren Kerlin, Benjamin Snyder, Thomason Fetter, Pat Whitt, John Palan, Fred M. Baron, Joan Elliott, William C. Bibb, Christen Griffin, Ann-Marie Hornblower, Karen Cody, Gabrielle Prater, Samantha Ollinger, Lynn Haskell, Ginny Barnes, Robert Goostree, Ann Kennedy, Elizabeth Shreiber, Lydia Kravahuck, Martha King, Brett Camack, Tom Adam, Merlyn Nelson, Susan Nelson, Inese Redondo, Elizabeth Hansen, Alan Ziegaus, Tony Petros, John Ziebarth, John Ponder, Tiffany Metti, Jake Sneeden, Dorothy H. Knox, Barbara Palan, Lynwood Lary, Ken Farinsky, John Fitzsimons, Jean Bechtel, James Bechtel, Penny Davis, Monica Valentino, Ron Cohen, Robert Fuchs, Robert Freud, Karen Henderson, Susan Pfleezer, Barbara Cerny, Shelli Chosak, Marcia Asbock, Raji Nathan, Patrice Wahlstrom, Judith Langhans, Rose D. Klein, Victoria DiCicco, Lisa Smith, Deanna Rich, Debbie Lokanc, Nancy Novak, Anne Harvey, Phoebe Telser and Chris Moore

NOTE: PUBLIC TESTIMONY WAS CLOSED.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER QUIROZ MADE THE MOTION TO CONTINUE THIS ITEM TO OCTOBER 16, 2014. Commissioner Haase seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 4-0-3 with Commissioners Golba, Haase, Quiroz and Wagner voting yea and with Commissioners Austin and Peerson recusing and with Commissioner Whalen absent.