PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF JANUARY 29, 2015 IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Golba called the meeting to order at 9:09 a.m. Chairperson Golba adjourned the meeting at 2:06 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Tim Golba – present Vice-Chairperson Stephen Haase – present Commissioner James Whalen – present Commissioner Anthony Wagner – present Commissioner Sue Peerson – present Commissioner Theresa Quiroz – present Commissioner Douglas Austin – present

<u>Staff</u> Shannon Thomas, City Attorney – present Nancy Bragado, Planning Department. – out at 11 a.m. Brian Schoenfisch, Planning Department – in at 11 a.m. Mike Westlake, Development Services Department – present Louis Schultz, Development Services Department - present Carmina Trajano, Recorder – present

ITEM – 1: ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT - ISSUES WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION NOT PREVIOUSLY HEARD:

NONE

ITEM – 2: REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCE AND/OR ITEMS TO BE WITHDRAWN:

NONE

ITEM – 3: REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA:

NONE

ITEM – 4: **DIRECTOR'S REPORT:**

Nancy Bragado reported that per the request of the Navajo Planning Group, the deadline for the public comment period for the Grantville Focus Plan Amendment Draft Program Environmental Impact Report has been extended to February 17th and the draft is on the website.

ITEM – 5: COMMISSION COMMENT:

NONE

ITEM – 6: Continued from December 18, 2014; Appeal of Hearing Officer's decision on October 15, 2014

A GREEN ALTERNATIVE MMCC– PROJECT NO. 368304 City Council District: 8 Plan Area: Otay Mesa

Staff: Edith Gutierrez

Speaker slips in favor of the project, opposed to appeal submitted by Greg Magdoff, Rick Krowkowski, Chris Seigel, Leticia Olvera, Bertram Roberts, Laura Perches, Alex Scherer, Michelle, Beauchaup, Douglas Luke, David M, Yova Garces, JoAnne DiRito, Daniel Tideman, Theresa M. DiRito, Terence E. Hagans, Laurie A. Hagans, Wendy Faucett, Catherine Behan, Kelley Taylor, Carolyn Mooney, Darlene Morlett, Charles Torok, Anita Burch, Holly Parker, Debbie Sposato, Cindy Elliott, Michael Kuester, Jeff McCall, Melissa Cronin, Margaret Gibert, Chris Cronin, Lance Rogers, Paul Nager, Terrie Best, Lynne Sandoval, Martha Sullivan, Cynara Velazquez, Scott Levin, James Schmachtenberger, Marcee J. Levin, Michael Volt, David R. Blair, Vicki Estrada, Sgt. Susan Billard, Dr. Robert Walder, Zachary T. Lazarus, Joe Esposito, Janet Matola, Paul Mueller, Pearl Ayon, Anjanette Perkins, Ivan Ramirez, Ember McGowen, Douglas Cristofo, Dale Walder, Jaron Haynes, Irene Gomez and Nick.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted by Raquel Moran, Katie Poponyak, Carol Green, Jan Asaro, Dean Scott, Christine Griffiths, Peggy Walker, Bertha Alicia Gonzalez, Judi Strang, Scott Chipman, Maria Ofelia Angel, Jon I. Fellers, K. Lippitt and Barbara Gordon.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER WAGNER MADE THE MOTION TO DENY THE APPEAL AND UPHOLD THE HEARING OFFICER'S DECISION TO APPROVE CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT NO. 1298258 WITH TWO MODIFIED CONDITIONS. CONDITION NO. 16 SECURITY SHALL INCLUDE OPERABLE CAMERAS AND A METAL DETECTOR TO THE SATISFACTION OF THE SAN DIEGO POLICE DEPARTMENT, ALARMS, AND AN ARMED SECURITY GUARD (THE ARMING OF THE GUARD IS SUBJECT TO THE SATISFACTION OF THE DEVELOPMENT SERVICES DEPARTMENT, THE SAN DIEGO POLICE DEPARTMENT, AND THE OFFICE OF THE CITY ATTORNEY). THE ARMED SECURITY GUARD SHALL BE LICENSED BY THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA AND BE ON THE PREMISES 24 HOURS A DAY, SEVEN DAYS A WEEK, THE SECURITY GUARD SHOULD ONLY BE ENGAGED IN ACTIVITIES RELATED TO TO PROVIDING SECURITY FOR THE FACILITY, EXCEPT ON AN INCIDENTAL BASIS. CONDITION NO. 20. THE OWNER/PERMITTEE OR OPERATOR SHALL MAINTAIN THE MMCC. ADJACENT PUBLIC SIDEWALKS, AND AREAS UNDER THE CONTROL OF THE OWNER OR OPERATOR, FREE OF LITTER AND GRAFFITI AT ALL TIMES. THE OWNER OR OPERATOR SHALL PROVIDE FOR DAILY REMOVAL OF TRASH, LITTER, AND DEBRIS. GRAFFITI SHALL BE REMOVED WITHIN 24 HOURS. Commissioner Quiroz seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0 with Commissioners Golba, Haase, Austin, Quiroz, Peerson, Wagner and Whalen voting yea.

ITEM - 7:SMALL LOT SUBDIVISION ORDINANCE - PROJECT NO. 12003223
City Council District: AllPlan Area: City-Wide

Staff: Dan Normandin

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Pedro Tavaros, Beth Autin, Steve Wallton, Stephen Hester and Marianne Greene.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER WHALEN MADE THE MOTION TO RECOMMEND THAT THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVED THE PROPOSED AMENDMENTS. Commissioner Austin seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 6-1 with Commissioners Golba, Haase, Austin, Peerson, Wagner and Whalen voting yea and with Commissioner Quiroz voting nay.

ITEM - 8:9TH UPDATE TO THE LAND DEVELOPMENT CODE/LOCAL
COASTAL PROGRAM AMENDMENT
City Council District: AllPlan Area: City-Wide

Staff: Amanda Lee

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Chris Duggan, Matt Adams and Chanelle Hawken.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted were submitted.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER WHALEN MADE THE MOTION TO RECOMMEND APPROVAL TO THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE AMENDMENTS TO THE LAND DEVELOPMENT CODE AND LOCAL COASTAL PROGRAM (AND RELATED MUNICIPAL CODE AMENDMENTS) INCLUDING CHAPTER 5, ARTICLE 4; CHAPTER 6, ARTICLE 12; CHAPTER 9, ARTICLE 8; CHAPTER 11, ARTICLES 2-3; CHAPTER 12, ARTICLES 1, 3 AND 5-9; CHAPTER 13, ARTICLES 1 AND 2; CHAPTER 14, ARTICLES 1-4; AND CHAPTER 15, ARTICLES 5-6, 10, 13 AND 17 AS PRESENTED BY STAFF INCLUDING MODIFICATIONS TO: ISSUE #23 TO ALLOW BEVERAGE AND FOOD MANUFACTURING AND PRODUCTION IN THE IP-1-1 ZONE: ISSUE #25 TO ALLOW DISTRIBUTION FACILITIES IN THE IP-1-1 ZONE IN OTAY MESA ONLY; AND ISSUE #28 TO ELIMINATE SECTION 141.0302(j) THAT REQUIRES AN IMPROVED ALLEY FOR A COMPANION UNIT TO ACCESS SPACES OFF THE ALLEY. Commissioner Wagner seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 6-1 with Commissioners Golba, Haase, Austin, Peerson, Wagner and Whalen voting yea and with Commissioner Quiroz voting nay. Commissioner Whalen clarified that the motion to approve did not include the modification requested by the Community Planners Committee for Issue #16 Previously Conforming.

ITEM – 9: DISCUSSION AND ADOPTION OF PERMANENT RULES FOR THE PLANNING COMMISSION City Council District: N/A Plan Area: N/A

Staff: Mike Westlake

No speaker slips in favor of the project submitted were submitted.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted were submitted.

COMMISSION ACTION:

COMMISSIONER QUIROZ MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE PERMANENT RULES OF THE PLANNING COMMISSION. Commissioner Haase seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0 with Commissioners Golba, Haase, Austin, Quiroz, Peerson, Wagner and Whalen voting yea