# THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES FOR OFF-SITE WORKSHOP JANUARY 18, 2007 SANYO BUILDING 2055 SANYO AVENUE, OTAY MESA

### **CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:**

Chairperson Schultz called the workshop to order at 11:46 a.m. Chairperson Schultz adjourned the workshop at 4:35 pm.

### ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Barry Schultz-present Vice-Chairperson Kathleen Garcia- not present Commissioner Robert Griswold- present Commissioner Gil Ontai-present Commissioner Dennis Otsuji- not present Commissioner Eric Naslund- present Vacancy Mary Wright, Planning Department – present Mike Westlake, Development Services-not present Doug Humphreys, City Attorney-present Shirley Edwards, City Attorney- present Sabrina Curtin, Recorder-present

# ITEM-1: OTAY MESA FOCUSED WORKSHOP

City Council District: 8 Plan Area: Otay Mesa

As part of the Otay Mesa Community Plan Update, this focused workshop will concentrate on the industrial lands supply and demand, as well as the policy opportunities associated with the comprehensive plan update. The workshop will provide staff an opportunity to gather input from the Planning Commission on policy direction for the update in areas where industrial designations are proposed. The Planning Commission will accept public testimony on housing and industrial issues. No action is required on the part of the Planning Commission at this time. Report No. PC-07-026

**Location:** The Planning Commission was held in Otay Mesa, at the Sanyo Building located at **2055 Sanyo Avenue**.

#### **PUBLIC TESTIMONY:**

Speaker slips submitted in favor by Alejandra Meir Teran, John Leppert, Wendy Gillespie, Steve Zisser, Tatiana Suro, Mike Murphy, Alan Ziegaus, Elizabeth Porreca, Susanne Bankhead, Rob Hixson, David Wick, John Ponder, Bruce Warren, Tom Scott, Hack Adams, Tom Story, Linda Greenberg, Antonio Timenez, Pepper Coffey, and John Tolliffe.

Speaker slips submitted in opposition by Guillermo Lizarragu, Eugene Lyons, Michael Volt, Fermando Camalito, Lisa Golden, Barbara Camacho, Rigoberto Hirales, Leonor Ferrer, and Dann Sherman.

#### **COMMISSION ACTION:**

NO ACTION WAS TAKEN. INFORMATIONAL WORKSHOP.

Chairperson Schultz adjourned the Planning Commission meeting at 4:35 pm .