PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF MAY 22, 2008 IN CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS - 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Vice-Chairperson Naslund called the meeting to order at 9:02 a.m. Vice-Chairperson Naslund adjourned the meeting at 4:02 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Barry Schultz – Not present Vice-Chairperson - Eric Naslund – present Commissioner Robert Griswold – present, left @ 2:00pm Commissioner Gil Ontai -present Commissioner Dennis Otsuji - present Commissioner Mike Smiley – Not present Commissioner Tim Golba-present

<u>Staff</u> Andrea Dixon, City Attorney - present Mary Wright, Planning Department – present Mike Westlake, Development Services Department - present Elisa Contreras, Recorder - present

- ITEM 1: ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT ISSUES WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION NOT PREVIOUSLY HEARD: None given
- ITEM 2: REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCE AND/OR ITEMS TO BE WITHDRAWN: Request for a continuance for Item 8.
- ITEM 3: REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA:

None

ITEM 4: **DIRECTOR'S REPORT:**

Bill Anderson announced that City Council has directed the City and redevelopment division to propose a restructuring of the redevelopment division so that the employees working directly for the City will instead be working under contract with the redevelopment agency. As part of that there would be a SLA or MOA.

Secondly, staff presented the draft budget to Council as part of the budget hearing process. The budget will be finalized by City Council and the Mayor in June. The budget for the CPCI department, city planning and community investments are about 23.7 million dollars, of which 3.4 is the redevelopment agency 2.7 is facilities financing and 17.7 million is planning, urban form, economic development and administration. Since the general plan was adopted, in March, we are now underway to begin a comprehensive update to our community plans. We have 42 community plans in the city, four are underway now. Ocean beach and Otay Mesa which has been in process for several years, and we do anticipate finishing those this fiscal year and probably the first half of the fiscal year. Grantville, which is technically a master plan that would lead to plan amendments to those community plan areas, and just started the kick off for Barrio Logan in April. We also received funding in this budget in seed money in FY-2008 and the bulk of the funds for FY-2009 for the uptown North Park, Golden Hill cluster, and we've drafted the R.F.P.'s for those community plan updates, we'll be getting started this summer on that cluster and then, we are looking at redevelopment funds to the plan updates for Midway Old San Diego and San Ysidro and later in the fiscal year, Southeastern, Skyline Paradise Hills community plans, so that would be 10 to 12 of our community plan areas, or about 30% of our community plan areas.

Lastly, I am please to report that we kicked off the next phase of completing the San Diego river master plan, focusing on the implementation strategy, this year and completing the E.I.R. the following year, and then we'll have the master plan for adoption.

ITEM -5: COMMISSION COMMENT:

Commissioner Ontai welcomed Tim Golba to the Planning Commission.

Commissioner Golba announced that June 5 will be his last day as President of the La Jolla Community Planning Group.

ITEM-6: APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES FOR JANUARY 10, 2008, JANUARY 17, 2008 AND JANUARY 24, 2008

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER GRISWOLD TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FOR JANUARY 10, 2008. Second by Commissioner Ontai. Passed by a vote of 4-0 with Chairperon Schultz, Commissioner Smiley not present and Commissioner Golba abstaining.

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER GRISWOLD TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FOR JANUARY 17, 2008. Second by Commissioner Ontai. Passed by a vote of 4-0 with Chairperon Schultz, Commissioner Smiley not present and Commissioner Golba abstaining.

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER GRISWOLD TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FOR JANUARY 24, 2008. Second by Commissioner Ontai. Passed by a vote of 4-0 with Chairperon Schultz, Commissioner Smiley not present and Commissioner Golba abstaining.

ITEM-7: **COSTA VILLAS – PROJECT NO. 92076** City Council District: 1 Plan Area: Linda Vista

Staff: Edith Gutierrez

Speaker slip submitted in favor of the project Gary Taylor, Jonathan Head

Speak slips submitted opposed to the project Gudrun Hoffmeister, Duncan McGehee, Margarita Castro,

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER GOLBA TO CONTINUE THE ITEM TO A DATE CERTAIN OF JULY 10, 2008 TO ALLOW THE PROJECT TO GO BACK TO THE CPG TO MAKE A FULL PRESENTATION BASED ON THE P.D.P. Second by Commissioner Griswold. Passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Chairperson Schultz, Commissioner Smiley not present.

ADDITIONAL RECOMMENDATION:

Recommend by Commissioner Otsuji to assign tandem parking, secondly for tandem parking not to be used as storage and removal of garage doors.

Break from 10:40 to 10:46

ITEM-8: **BIRD ROCK MIXED USED-PROJECT NO. 87287** City Council District: 1; Plan Area: La Jolla

Speaker slip submitted in favor of the project Matthew A. Peterson, Mark Lyon, Michael Kranibs.

Speak slips submitted opposed to the project David Little, Jane Wheeler, Sally Fuller, Steve Haskins, Rima Singer, Odile Costello, Michael Costello, Karen Moranville, Elaine Maltz, Darcey Ashley, Sherri Lightner, Cynthia Thorsen, Patricia Granger, Dan Ashley, Michelle Faulks, Joe LaCava

COMMISSION ACTION: MOTION TO CONTINUE TO A DATE CERTAIN OF JUNE 12, 2008 BY COMMISSIONER OSUTJI. Second by Commissioner Griswold.

Passed by 4-0-3 vote with Chairperon Schultz, Commissioner Smiley not present and Commissioner Golba abstaining. *Lunch from 11:56-12:36*

ITEM-9: UNIVERSITY TOWNE CENTER-PROJECT NO. 2214

City Council District: 1; Plan Area: University

Speaker slip submitted in favor Jim Gleeson, Clifton Williams, Walter Musial, Pam Nagata, Janis Deady, Scott Crider, Arlie Martin, Ahmad Solomon, Hugh Pates, Emil Elghanian, Andrew Poat, Sue Reynolds, Dan Hom, Jack Boda, Todd Philips, Stephen Kapp, Andrew McAllister, Michael Rubenstein, Katie Hansen, Reed Vickerman, Scott Alevy, Scott Barnett, Sharon Cooney, Joni Low, Angelika Villagrana, JC Thomas, Mark Thomsen, Jonathan Bradhurst, Greg Fitchitt, Vince Zawodly, Paul Silvern, Kim Baranek, Robin Monroe, Pat Gibson, Cif Williams, Clint Carney, Tim Murphy, Lynne Heidel, Christopher Garrett, Chris Wahl, Randy Ualang, Emily Carbone, Julia Theios.

Speak slips submitted opposed to the project Lorraine Stein, Cheryl Ceyerman Charles Pratt, Peter Burcy, Deborah Knight, Larry Hogue, Shelley Plumb, Elaine Maltz, Cynthia Thorsen, Karen Moranville, Darcy Ashley, George W. Lattimer, Sandra Lippe, Megan Beale, Kevin Willard, Linda Colley, Patricia A. Wilson

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION TO CONTINUE TO A DATE CERTAIN OF JUNE 12, 2008 BY COMMISSIONER ONTAI. Second by Commissioner Golba. Passed by 4-0-3 vote with Chairperon Schultz, Commissioner Smiley, Commissioner Griswold not present.

ADDITIONAL RECOMMENDATION:

Dispersing the residential housing throughout the three sites having one tall tower. Show active street edges along La Jolla, how one gets to transit. Also, recommend to alignment with structures in University City and show range of development options, look at the mix use again. Recommed revisiting affordable housing. Bring us back a sense of what type of housing and schools.

For Staff:

Justification or refinement regarding the process for substantial conformance, also itemized questions regarding the F.B.A. Need commitment on transportation issues.

*Vice-Chairperson Naslund adjourned the meeting @ 4:02.