PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF JUNE 25, 2009 IN CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS - 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Naslund called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m. Chairperson Naslund adjourned the meeting at 11:15 a.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Eric Naslund - present Vice-Chairperson Tim Golba- present Commissioner Robert Griswold – present Commissioner Mary Lydon – absent Commissioner Gil Ontai – present Commissioner Dennis Otsuji - absent Commissioner Mike Smiley – present

<u>Staff</u>

Andrea Dixon, Deputy City Attorney – present Mary Wright, Planning Department - present Mike Westlake, Development Services Department – present Don Weston, Development Services Department - present Brenda Clark, Recorder - present

ITEM - 1: ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT - ISSUES WITHIN THE JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION NOT PREVIOUSLY HEARD:

None

ITEM - 2: REQUESTS FOR CONTINUANCE AND/OR ITEMS TO BE WITHDRAWN:

None

ITEM - 3: REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA:

None

ITEM - 4: **DIRECTOR'S REPORT:**

None

ITEM - 5: COMMISSION COMMENT:

None

ITEM – 6: AQUATERA APARTMENTS – PROJECT NO. 177983 Council District: 6 Plan Area: Mission Valley

Staff: Jeannette Temple

Speaker slips in favor of the project by Allen Jones.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project.

COMMISSION ACTION

COMMISSIONER GRISWOLD MADE THE MOTION TO APPROVE PLANNED DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 640230 AND SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 657839 TO AMEND PLANNED DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 212959 AND SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 9430. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioner Naslund, Ontai, Smiley, Griswold and Golba voting yea and Commissioners Lydon and Otsuji absent

Resolution No: 4526-PC

ITEM – 7: HISTORICAL RESOURCES APPEAL PROCESS

City Council District: All Plan Area: Citywide

Staff: Cathy Winterrowd

Speaker slips in favor of project by Marie Lia, Brandon Cohen, Jim Dawe, Bruce Cohen, Paul Robinson, Neil Hytinnen, Lin Martin, Scott Moomjian, Robin Munro.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project by Jaye Furlonger, Linda A. Canada, Bruce Coons, John Oldenkamp, Carin Howard, Janet O'Dea, David Goldberg, Ron Buckley, Ann Garwood, Barry E. Hages, Dionne Cavlson, Allen Hazard, Nancy Moors, Lone Stiegler.

COMMISSION ACTION

COMMISSIONER GRISWOLD MADE THE MOTION TO RECOMMEND TO CITY COUNCIL TO ADOPT THE PROPOSED AMENDMENT THAT WOULD EXPAND THE COUNCIL'S DISCRETION IN OVERTURNING A HISTORICAL DESIGNATION. Commissioner Smiley seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 4-1-2 with Commissioners Naslund, Smiley, Griswold and Golba voting yea and Commissioner Ontai voting nay and Commissioner Lydon and Otsuji absent.

Resolution No. – 4527-PC