PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF MARCH 4, 2021 VIRTUAL MEETING - ZOOM

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Chairperson William Hofman adjourned the meeting at 11:35 a.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman – Teleconference Vice-Chairperson James Whalen – Teleconference Commissioner Douglas Austin – Teleconference Commissioner Vicki Granowitz – Teleconference Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Teleconference Commissioner Matthew Boomhower – Teleconference Commissioner Kelly Moden – Teleconference

Staff:

Corrine Neuffer, Chief Deputy City Attorney – Teleconference Tait Galloway, Program Manager, Planning Department – Teleconference Tim Daly, Assistant Deputy Director, Development Services Department - Teleconference Tony Khalil, Senior Civil Engineer, Development Services Department – Teleconference Sabrina Custer, Legislative Recorder, Development Services Department – Teleconference

ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN None.

CONSENT AGENDA

ITEM-1 *32nd & BROADWAY - PROJECT NO. 637438

City Council District: 3 Plan Area: Greater Golden Hill Staff: Travis Cleveland

No public testimony on this item.

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY VICE-CHAIRMAN WHALEN TO:

- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL ADOPT MITIGATED NEGATIVE DECLARATION NO. 637438 AND ADOPT MITIGATION MONITORING AND REPORTING PROGRAM
- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE PUBLIC RIGHT-OF-WAY VACATION NO. 2324692
- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE TENTATIVE MAP NO. 2324694
- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE NEIGHBORHOOD DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2324693
- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2471596

Second by Commissioner Moden. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Granowitz, Austin, Moden, Boomhower and Whalen voting yea.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Approved

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Tait Galloway, Program Manager, Planning Department announced that March is the annual elections for Community Planning Groups.

Tait also informed the commission that on both the Development Services and Planning Department website, a new feature was added called About Being Informed. You can sign up on our Constant Contact to receive upcoming notices on projects, agendas, etc.

We will also be providing a workshop for the upcoming Mira Mesa Community Planning. We will keep you posted on the date.

Reported that they spoke with SANDAG staff regarding Barrio Logan and found out the discrepancy between the numbers on the demographics was due to using census numbers and estimates.

Tim Daly, Development Services Department announced that on March 1, 2021 Development Services introduced the next wave of online permits and plan review to make it easier for customers to apply for permits and utilized the full Cloud base software to review plans using the electronic plan review. On Tuesday this week, we have a new curbside plan pickup services that we are offering by using the online appointment feature.

COMMISSION COMMENT

None

BREAK @ 10:50 to 10:55

DISCUSSION ITEMS

ITEM-2 Montezuma Residential CPA Initiation – Project No. 681529

City Council District: 6 Plan Area: College Area Staff: Nathen Causman

Speakers on the Project: Steve Bossi, Sophie, Marcela Escobar-Eck, Troy McPhee, Trevor Jones, Tom Silva, Sylvia Neilson, Ron W., Allison Guthridge, Ann Cottrell, Chet Dowling, Debbie Beiley, DM Falk, Ellen Bevier, Hannah Diaz, Janel Jacob, Jim Jennings Nancy Schelling, Mario Ingrasci, Josh Billaver, Marissa Tucker-Borquez, Julie Hamilton, Jan Hintzman, Richard Burkett, Joe Felton, Paul Bailey, Robert Montana, Jim Jennings, Christina Boyd, Kara Camden, Kent Fisher, Eva Yakutis, Arielle Levine, Justin Worfe, Cherie Flowers, Joan Reese, Kirstie Wilson, Amy Soto, Sue Richardson, Rachel Laing

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

• INITIATE THE COMMUNITY PLAN AMENDMENT PROCESS

Second by Vice-Chairman Whalen. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Granowitz, Austin, Moden, Boomhower and Whalen voting yea.

Meeting adjourned at 11:35 a.m.