PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF APRIL 15, 2021 VIRTUAL MEETING - ZOOM

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Chairperson William Hofman adjourned the meeting at 9:55 a.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman – Teleconference Vice-Chairperson James Whalen – Teleconference Commissioner Douglas Austin – Teleconference Commissioner – Ken Malbrough – Teleconference Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Teleconference Commissioner Matthew Boomhower – Teleconference Commissioner Kelly Moden – Teleconference

Staff:

Shannon Eckmeyer, Chief Deputy City Attorney – Teleconference Tait Galloway, Program Manager, Planning Department – Teleconference Tim Daly, Assistant Deputy Director, Development Services Department - Teleconference Tony Khalil, Senior Civil Engineer, Development Services Department – Teleconference Sabrina Custer, Legislative Recorder, Development Services Department – Teleconference

ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT

Chairman Hofman introduced new Commissioner Ken Malbrough

No Public Comment

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

Item # 3 The Junipers Project No. 586670 – Staff request a continuance to April 29, 2021

CONSENT AGENDA

ITEM-1 DIGITA City Co

DIGITAL LAURETTA LOFTS – PROJECT NO. 670610

City Council District: 2 Plan Area: Linda Vista Staff: Martha Blake

Speakers on the Project: Tony Christiansen, William Demoran

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY VICE-CHAIRMAN WHALEN TO:

• APPROVE VESTING TENTATIVE MAP NO. 2456079

Second by Commissioner Austin. The motion passed by a vote of with 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Otsuji, Austin, Moden, Boomhower, Malbrough and Whalen yea.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Approved

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

No report from Development Services Department.

Tait Galloway, Planning Department, reported that the local San Diego Chapter of the American Planning Association has awarded the Planning Department with the Planning Agency Award for 2021. The Planning Department also received the award for Best Practice Award for the General Plan Housing Element, as well as the Environmental Planning Award for Complete Communities Housing Program. They also received the Merit Award for the Kearny Mesa Community Plan Update. Finally, they received a Merit Award for Transportation Planning category for Mission Boulevard Public Spaces and Active Transportation Plan.

Tait also provided answers to Commissioner Otsuji request regarding Street Trees removal.

Brad Richter, Urban Division, provided information to Commissioner Otsuji and the rest of the Commission on the Downtown Mobility Plan, addressing Commissioner Otsuji's questions on bicycle ways in downtown San Diego and Pedestrians in the right-of-way.

COMMISSION COMMENT

Vice-Chairman Whalen congratulated the Planning Department because the city prevailed in CEQA litigation

on both Morena and PB Plan Updates. Also stated that he wanted to make sure the Engineering Department was aware and tracking AB 377. Can we get a report back on where Alternative Compliance on Stormwater and where it stands today?

Commissioner Austin asked Brad Richter if a person must pay per unit or square foot if they are not using the Complete Communities Program. Is Complete Communities the only way to wave DIF Fees.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

ITEM-2 OTAY MESA COMMUNITY PLAN AMENDMENT INITIATION FOR CAL TERRACE PA-61 MULTIFAMILY City Council District: 8 Plan Area: Otay Mesa Staff: Tony Kempton

No Speaker on the Project

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

INITIATE THE PLAN AMENDMENT PROCESS

Seconded by Commissioner Austin. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Hofman, Austin, Malbrough, Boomhower, Otsuji, Moden voting yea and Whalen recusing.

ITEM-3 *THE JUNIPERS- PROJECT NO. 586670

City Council District: 5 Plan Area: Rancho Peñasquitos Staff: Xavier Del Valle

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY VICE-CHAIRMAN WHALEN TO:

CONTINUE THE JUNIPERS PROJECT NO. 586670 TO APRIL 29, 2021

Seconded by Commissioner Boomhower. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Austin, Malbrough, Boomhower, Otsuji, Moden and Whalen voting yea.

MEETING ADJOURNED at 9:55 a.m.