PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF AUGUST 5, 2021 VIRTUAL MEETING - ZOOM

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Vice-Chairman James Whalen adjourned the meeting at 12:53 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman – Teleconference Vice-Chairperson James Whalen – Teleconference Commissioner Douglas Austin – Teleconference Commissioner Malbrough – Teleconference Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Teleconference Commissioner Matthew Boomhower – Teleconference Commissioner Kelly Moden – Teleconference

Staff:

Corrine Neuffer, Chief Deputy City Attorney – Teleconference Tait Galloway, Program Manager, Planning Department – Teleconference Tim Daly, Assistant Deputy Director, Development Services Department - Teleconference Sean Torres, Senior Civil Engineer, Development Services Department – Teleconference Sabrina Custer, Legislative Recorder, Development Services Department – Teleconference

ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

None.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

MOTION BY VICE-CHAIRMAN WHALEN TO CHANGE THE ORDER OF ITEMS BEING PRESENTED. ITEM #2 – TEEL RESIDENCE WILL BE PRESENTED FIRST. Second by Commissioner Malbrough. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1with Commissioners Otsuji, Malbrough, Austin, Moden, Boomhower and Whalen yes and Chairman Hofman abstaining.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

No report from Development Services Department.

Tait Galloway, Planning Department, reported that early this week the City Council approved the Park Master Plan.

COMMISSION COMMENT

None

AGENDA ITEMS

ITEM-1 Expedited Project

*TRAILS AT CARMEL MOUNTAIN RANCH – PROJECT NO. 652519

City Council District: 5 Plan Area: Carmel Mountain Ranch Staff: Martin Mendez

Speakers in Opposition and in Favor: Jason Han, Carly Keatts, Jonathan Frankel, Marcela Escobar-Eck, Rachel Laing, Doug Telcote, Jerri Hunt, Roxanne Whitney, Ricardo Villa, Kareem Morad, Leslie Peraza, Adam Browning Julie Ann Hahn, Jess O'Sullivan, Jack Stelz, Jason Paguio, Sina Hajhassen, David Lizerbran, Troy, Daum, Eric Spidally, Marissa Tucker-Borquez, Eric Edelman, John O'Reilly, Matthew Jenkins, Maddy Kilkenny, Greg Block, William Laing, Sean Frencis, Aidan Clark, Magie Newman, Saeem Manglik, Bruce Bergman, Heather Riley, Ricardo Florez, Terry Farris, Brian Hollandsworth, Greg Angela, John Chiu, Haley Wonsley, Francisco Castaneda, Steve bassi, Darren Pudgil, Anna Solo, Andy Kopp, Kurt Carlson, Dan Thompson, Alan Hahn, Madeline Leal, Angeli Calinog, Debra Rosa, Isabela Rodriguez, Karen Vouge, George Courser, Rick Ludwig, Maria Schneider, Ali Khodafar, Peter Anderson, Mark Manin, Cathy Carr, Rob Halen, Marc Grojic, Badr Yacoub, Craig Schneider, Gayle Duke, Dean Westbrooke, Dustin Leal, Brian Griffith, Brittney Siordia, Kirsten Green, Michelle Hellerud, Jeff Kucharski, Brian Forinash, Derrick Luckett, Margaret Hatounian, Judi, McCarter

Break @ 10:25 to 10:30 Break @ 12:02 to 12:12

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL CERTIFY ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT REPORT (EIR) NO.
 652519/SCH NO. 2020039006 AND ADOPT THE MITIGATION, MONITORING AND REPORTING
- PROGRAM (MMRP), AND ADOPT THE FINDINGS AND STATEMENT OF OVERRIDING CONSIDERATIONS
- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL TO APPROVE A RESOLUTION FOR AN AMENDMENT TO THE GENERAL PLAN AND CARMEL MOUNTAIN RANCH COMMUNITY PLAN NO. 2366421.
- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE REZONE NO. 2366507.
- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE MASTER PLANNED DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2366508 AND SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2366425.
- RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE VESTING TENTATIVE MAP NO. 2366422.

Second by Commissioner Moden. The motion passed by a vote of with 6-0-1 with Commissioners Otsuji, Malbrough, Austin, Moden, Boomhower and Whalen yes and Chairman Hofman Recusing.

ITEM-2 Appeal of Staff's Decision from 6/8/2021

TEEL RESIDENCE – PROJECT NO. 669815

City Council District: 1 Plan Area: La Jolla Staff: Denise Vo

<u>Speakers in Opposition and in Favor</u>: Claude Anthony Marengo, Phil Merten, Doug Telcote, Jerri Hunt, and Roxanne Whitney

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER AUSTIN TO:

• DENY THE APPEAL AND AFFIRM THE DEVELOPMENT SERVICES DEPARTMENT DECISION TO APPROVE COASTAL DEVELOPMENT PERMIT (CDP) NO. 2453158.

Seconded by Vice-Chairman Whalen. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Austin, Malbrough, Boomhower, Otsuji, Moden and Whalen voting yea.

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 12:53 p.m.