Approved on 1/19/2023

PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF December 15, 2022 Hybrid Meeting

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Vice-Chairperson Kelly Modén called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM. Vice-Chairperson Kelly Modén adjourned the meeting at 10:07 AM

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chair William Hofman – Absent
Vice-Chair Kelly Modén – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Ted Miyahara – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Ken Malbrough - Present in Chambers
Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Matthew Boomhower – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Carmen Vann – Present in Chambers

STAFF:

Corrine Neuffer, Chief Deputy City Attorney – Present in Chambers Marlon Pangilinan, Planning Department – Present in Chambers Renee Mezo, Assistant Deputy Director, Development Services Department - Present in Chambers

Tony Khalil, Senior Civil Engineer, Development Services Department – Present in Chambers

Sabrina Custer, Legislative Recorder, Development Services Department - Present in Chambers

ANNOUNCEMENTS/NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

Don Lighting on Public Comment

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

None

REQUEST FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA

Item #1 T-Mobile Monogahela Item #3 T-Mobile Johnson Residence Item #5 AT&T Mission Chateau

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Approved

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Development Services Department – None. Planning Department – None.

COMMISSION COMMENT

None

AGENDA ITEMS

ITEM 1: T-MOBILE MONOGAHELA – PROJECT NO. 674122

City Council District: 2 Plan Area: Clairemont Mesa

Staff: Nilia Safi

Speakers on the project:

None

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

- APPROVE CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT NO. 2605993
- APPROVE PLANNED DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2605992
- APPROVE SITE DEVELOPMENT NO. 2605991

Second by Commissioner Marlbrough. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough, Vann Yea and Commissioner Hofman absent.

ITEM 2: AIR RIGHTS TOWER - PROJECT NO. 1066848

City Council District: 1 Plan Area: Downtown & Barrio Logan

Staff: James Alexander

Speakers on the project:

Jay Mare, Bruce Coons, Don Lighting, Matt Segal

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER OTSUJI TO:

- APPROVE COASTAL DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 3170850
- APPROVE SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 3170849

Second by Commissioner Vann. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough, Vann Yea and Commissioner Hofman absent.

ITEM 3: T-MOBILE JOHNSON RESIDENCE - PROJECT NO. 674760

City Council District: 9 **Plan Area**: Mid City-Kensington Talmadge

Staff: Nilia Safi

Speakers on the project:

None

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

- APPROVE CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT NO. 2529320
- APPROVE SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2605578

Second by Commissioner Malbrough. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough, Vann Yea and Commissioner Hofman absent.

ITEM 4: VERIZON SAN DIEGO ZOO - PROJECT NO. 699293

City Council District: 3 Plan Area: Uptown

Staff: Ian Heacox

Speakers on the project:

Andrea Meyers

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

- APPROVE CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT NO. 2591714
- APPROVE NEIGHBORHOOD DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2606145

Second by Commissioner Malbrough. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough, Vann Yea and Commissioner Hofman absent.

ITEM 5: AT&T MISSION CHATEAU - PROJECT NO. 1049514

City Council District: 1 Plan Area: North Park

Staff: Karen Howard

Speakers on the project: Doug Austin, Rhonda Neely

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

APPROVE conditional use PERMIT NO. 3139411

Second by Commissioner Malbrough. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough, Vann Yea and Commissioner Hofman absent.

ITEM 6: 3774, 3780-3786 5th AVENUE - PROJECT NO. 1049650

City Council District: 3 Plan Area: Uptown

Staff: Bryan Hudson

Speakers on the project:

Chuck Kaminski, Bruce Coons, Marcela Escobar-Eck, Shankar Kamakrishman, Jeff Chine, Andrew Settle, Anna McPherson, Kimberly Kantrub, Kim Baranek, Max Zeff

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

- ADOPT ADDENDUM NO. 1049650 TO PROGRAM ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT REPORT NO. 380611/SCH NO. 2016061023 AND ADOPT THE MITIGATION, MONITORING, AND REPORTING PROGRAM
- APPROVE SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 3134887

Second by Commissioner Malbrough. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Otsuji, Miyahara, Modén, Boomhower, Malbrough, Vann Yea and Commissioner Hofman absent.

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 10:07 AM