# PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF DECEMBER 7, 2017 IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 12<sup>TH</sup> FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING 202 C STREET, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

### CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Stephen Haase called the meeting to order at 9:06 a.m. Chairperson Stephen Haase adjourned the meeting at 1:32 p.m.

### ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Stephen Haase – present Vice-Chairperson Sue Peerson – present Commissioner James Whalen – present Commissioner Douglas Austin – present Commissioner William Hofman – present Commissioner Granowitz – present Dennis Otsuji – present / left at 9:35 a.m.

<u>Staff</u>

Corrine Neuffer, City Attorney – present Laura Black, Planning Department – present / left at 9:50 a.m. / returned at 10:22 a.m. Brian Schoenfisch, Planning Department – present / arrived at 9:50 a.m. / left at 10:22 a.m. Elyse Lowe, Development Services Department – present / arrived at 9:36 a.m. PJ FitzGerald, Development Services Department – present / left at 9:36 a.m. Louis Schultz, Development Services Department – present Carmina Trajano, Recorder – present

### **ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT**

Martha Welch commented on Housing.

Daniel Beeman commented on Affordable Housing vs. Homelessness.

### **REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN**

None.

### **CONSENT AGENDA**

## ITEM-1: CROWN CASTLE TERRACE COURT - PROJECT NO. 432321

City Council District: 9 Plan Area: Kensington-Talmadge

Staff: Travis Cleveland

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Mark Linman.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Daniel Beeman.

#### **COMMISSION ACTION:**

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER WHALEN TO APPROVE THE STAFF'S RECOMMENDATION TO APPROVE CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT 2045909. Seconded by Commissioner Peerson. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0 with Commissioners Haase, Hofman, Austin, Granowitz, Peerson, Otsuji and Whalen voting yea.

## **APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA**

ITEM # 1 - CROWN CASTLE TERRACE COURT - PROJECT NO. 432321 was moved as the first action item.

#### DIRECTOR'S REPORT

None.

#### COMMISSION COMMENT

None.

#### DISCUSSION ITEMS

## ITEM-2: Appeal of Hearing Officer's decision on May 17, 2017

#### **ELKINS RESIDENCE - PROJECT NO. 463101**

City Council District: 1 Plan Area: La Jolla

Staff: Jeffrey A. Peterson

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Tim Golba, Penny Jo Elkins and Thom Elkins.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Daniel Beeman and Peggy Davis.

### **COMMISSION ACTION:**

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER HOFMAN TO APPROVE THE STAFF'S RECOMMENDATION TO DENY THE APPEAL, UPHOLD THE HEARING OFFICER'S DECISION AND APPROVE COASTAL DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 1620093 AND SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO.1620095. Seconded by Commissioner Peerson. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0 with Commissioners Haase, Hofman, Austin, Granowitz, Peerson, Otsuji and Whalen voting yea.

## Break: 10:34 a.m. – 10:50 a.m.

# ITEM–3: PACIFIC VILLAGE - PROJECT NO. 470158 City Council District: 5 Plan Area: Rancho Penasquitos

Staff: Firouzeh Tirandazi

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by David Stearn, Chris Texter, Tony Young, Randi Cooper Smith, Chris Wartz, Ashley Johnson, Tom Sellers, Stanley Cohen, Dorothy Cohen, Dominic Civello, Olivia Chivers, Melanie Wilson, Howard Cohen, Matt Warren, Jeff Chine, Sheryl Swanson, Aaron Parker, Theresa Granadus, Kim Arnold, Sharon Smeltzer, Taylor Baumann, Jacob Bernier, Nichole Weinman, Melvin Spencer, Tiffany Hilborn, Stacie Greene, Jamil Shamoon, Chris Roebink, Jonathan Frankel, Melissa Staynen, Cameron Shariati, Bob Cummings, Alexandra Surgel, Alan J. Jones, Ann Marie Quinn, Whitney Benzian, Buddy Bohrer, Stefanie Benvenuto, Tina Villa, Mandy Ficarra, Tanya Sorensen, April Hicks, Giovanni Posillico, Sherrill Swanson, Alan Cohen, Chuck Banker, Chuck Bane, Adelaide Wilberforce, Howard Cohen, Diana Peek, Nichole Lawhon, Pamela Dutra, Steve Rees, Gary Christensen, Miguil A. Abugader, Farnaz Omidvar, Celeste Salcedo, Edwin Maharaj, Jose Jolewdozk, Earnie Hisel, Justin Barrett, Melissa Stern, Erendira Lawler, Carree Anderson, Jason Vimmel, Kevin Nolen, Kim Arnold, Ericka Moody, Chane Shuy, Steve Grimes, Christina Cataluno, Shannon Gaunt and Peter Rhoad.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Daniel Beeman, John Blanco, Amy Kuhn, Sara Jacobs, Amanda Mascia, Hector B?, Linda Mauch, James Alvernaz, Michelle Krug,

Joann Thompson, Jiaire Martin, Dietrice Hinojosa, Rito Montano, Alexis Olbrel, Phung Nguyen, Donna Tooker, Art Teodosio, Elenita Gatdula, Angelica Godinez, Christine Nguyen, Bill Bourke, Laurie Dusa, Karen Villa, Trinh Le, Ian M. Seruelo, Patrick J. Ambrosio, William Johnson, Susan Orlofsky, Amanda Solomon Amorao, Paul Valen, Jose Diaz, Melinda Vasquez, Jocelyn Lomahan, Martha Martin, Jose Rodriguez, Elaine Ibanez, Diana Martini, Shanika Lazo, Neal Ortiguerra, Marco Brezones, Fernanda Flores, Ramon Delacruz, Ifrah Salad, Karen Paredes- Tupper, Fr. Anthony Saroki, Jim Bailey, May Fu, Amanda Le, Anthony De Guzman, Alicia Ricafuente, Arneson Sambile, Judith Pleimann Kirk, Cody Petterson, Kathy Muckley, Stephanie Eldridge, Latanya Chane, Tracy Pham, Kandi, Anabel Arauz, Bo Elder, Cuauntemor Ornelas, Ramesses Surban, Rodolfo Desierto, Jose B. Zara, Satomi Rash- Zeigler, Maureen G. Abugan, William Schott, Nieves Fernandez, Jose Fernandez, Tom Lemmon, Cynthia Suevo – Gabler, Carol Kim, Dr. Murtaza Baxamusa, Fayaz Nawabi, Heidi Dotimaj, Mercedes Jones, Martha Sullivan, Tommy Hough, Ellis Rose, JoAnn Fields, Jack Shu, Thong Tran, Pebblz, Rick Bates, Sarah Marealle, Martha Welch, Kirin Macapuyay, Margarita Diaz, Joseph "Dyno" Corrales, Furyaki, Leslie Smith, Diana Baier, Jose Jose Zara Jr., Purificacion, Father Joan Auther, Domo, Pigoy, Spazzmatikk, Juanita Santos Nacu and Mary Lou Finley.

## **COMMISSION ACTION:**

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER HOFMAN TO APPROVE THE STAFF'S RECOMMENDATION TO RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL ADOPT MITIGATED NEGATIVE DECLARATION NO. 470158, AND ADOPT MITIGATION, MONITORING, AND REPORTING PROGRAM; APPROVE SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 1669787; APPROVE PLANNED DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 1669786; APPROVE NEIGHBORHOOD USE PERMIT NO. 2001744; AND APPROVE VESTING TENTATIVE MAP NO.1669785, AND EASEMENT VACATION NO. 2001745, WITH A RECOMMENDATION THAT THE DEVELOPER LOOK AT HOW TO MAKE A FIRM COMMITMENT REGARDING ITS RELOCATION PROGRAM. Seconded by Commissioner Peerson. The motion passed by a vote of 5-1-1 with Commissioners Haase, Hofman, Austin, Peerson and Whalen voting yea and with Commissioner Granowitz voting nay and with Commissioner Otsuji recusing.

#### ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned by Chairperson Stephen Haase at 1:32 p.m.